Dorothy Releases A New Single – Flawless, New Album Due Out Soon

Los Angeles rockers Dorothy, led by singer Dorothy Martin, has dropped a baddass new single, ‘Flawless’. The album comes from her forthcoming new album 28 Days in the Valley, out March 9th via Jay-Z’s Roc Nation label. Stream ‘Flawless’ now:Continue reading

The Agonist – Eye of Providence

In case you haven’t been following the story of The Agonist in the last year, they were in the unenviable position of making a change in the voice and face of the band when mainstay Alissa White-Gluz was hand-picked as the new Arch Enemy singer. Even more tricky… the band seemed to not want her to go, as an upstart band on the same label as Arch Enemy, so you might say the band was in a perilous situation. On top of that, the band was facing pivotal album number four in their career, so to say they had a challenge before them on many fronts, would be an understatement.

However, the band triumphantly rose up and actually created a release with Eye of Providence (Century Media) that stands on equal footing with the bands finest work to date. New singer Vicky Psarakis added last summer injected a her own style, while not changing what the bands make-up musically was at all. Her screaming is on par with White-Gluz, with a brassy contralto, mid-range singing voice; not unlike the best female rock singers in history such as Ann Wilson, Pat Benatar or Linda Perry. This gives Psarakis a grit to her delivery that adds to the emotion of the tracks. Many of the hallmarks of the bands’ past are present on Eye… : anthemic metalcore songs, guitar wizardry, killer double-kick beats, and the pristine production of of long-time producer Christian Donaldson (Crypstopsy).

And the songs! This album has strong, well-written tracks, each with their own identity, but firmly in the tradition they have had. From the blistering opener ‘Gates of Horn and Ivory,’ ‘My Witness, Your victim’, ‘I Endevour’, ‘Perpetual Notion’, ‘A Necessary Evil’ and many more, this album runs the gamut from thrash, prog and rock over and over again. Most of the album carries the positive and impassioned messages associated with them. Acknowledging that it is really hard to lose a singer, especially one so popular with fans, The Agonist has surely proved a lot of doubters wrong here.



Michael Des Barres Releasing The Key To The Universe In April

michael des barres

Michael Des Barres will be releasing his new album The Key To The Universe on April 7, 2015 via Michael Des Barres.

For the British singer/songwriter/musician, actor and host on SiriusXM’s nationally syndicated “Little Steven’s Underground Garage,” it’s a return to down and dirty rock music with heavy guitars and unflinching lyrics about life lived to the fullest. The album’s first release will be the two-song single with the Linda Perry-penned “Can’t Get You Off My Mind” and “I Want Love To Punch Me In The Face,” co-written by DES BARRES.

michael des barres i cant get you off my mind

DES BARRES describes THE KEY TO THE UNIVERSE as “very loud, very raw and it’s gonna rock like f***.” Produced by Robert Rose (who’s worked on albums by Julian Lennon, Steve Jones of the Sex Pistols and DES BARRES 1986 album Somebody Up There Likes Me), and recorded at Forum Music Village in Rome, THE KEY TO THE UNIVERSE features DES BARRES firing on all cylinders and lighting up the rock world as only he can. The album once more reunites DES BARRES with Nigel Harrison–former bassist of Blondie and Silverhead–on bass and guitar in addition to showcasing the talents of Clive Deamer (Portishead, Robert Plant) on drums and the ace Dani Robinson on guitar.

michael des barres the key to the universe

Track listing for THE KEY TO THE UNIVERSE:
1. Can’t Get You Off My Mind
2. Room Full Of Angels
3. I Want Love To Punch Me In The Face
4. Maybe Means Nothing
5. Burning In Water
6. It’s Just a Dream
7. Yesterday’s Casanova
8. Black Sheep
9. Liberty Train
10. Supernatural Lovers

Michael Des Barres on Facebook
Michael Des Barres on Twitter

Michael Des Barres, Linda Perry, Sara Gilbert Judges On ‘American’t Idol’

americant idol

There’s American Idol and then there’s American’t Idol, a whole other animal featuring judges Deacon Cockfosters (Michael Des Barres), Wendy (no last name) (Sara Gilbert) and Blue Stone (Linda Perry), respectively.

In this clip, they judge such artists such as Bob Dylan, Janis Joplin and Led Zeppelin, who are all harshly dismissed by the judges as not having what it takes to be an idol.

Check it out here.

Des Barres has a new album out in mid March via FOD Records titled The Key To The Universe. It’s murderous rock and roll with such songs as “I Want Love To Punch Me In The Face,” “Burning In Water” and “Can’t Get You Off My Mind,” a song penned by Linda Perry.