Whitesnake To Release “Slip of the Tongue” 30th Anniversary Package

Whitesnake will release an expanded edition of their eighth studio album Slip Of The Tongue this October 4th. The set comes in several versions including a colossal seven-disc boxed set. It will retail for $74.98. The 6CD/DVD collection includes a newly remastered version of the album, plus unreleased studio recordings, audio, and video of the band’s performance at the 1990 Monsters Of Rock festival, and a new interview with founder and lead singer David Coverdale. It comes with a 60-page hardbound book filled with rare memorabilia from the era. For a limited time, Rhino.com will offer the Super Deluxe edition paired with a lithograph signed by David Coverdale for $84.98.

Other versions of “Slip Of The Tongue” will also be available the same day, including double-CD Deluxe Edition, which includes the newly remastered album expanded with a selection of rare and unreleased bonus tracks ($24.98) and a double-LP Deluxe Edition, which features the newly remastered album along with a selection of unique bonus tracks ($31.98). A single-disc version ($9.98) includes the newly remastered album, along with single B-Sides plus alternate recordings. The music will be available digitally as well.

Following the 8x platinum success of its eponymous album in 1987, Whitesnake returned two years later with “Slip Of The Tongue”. At the time, the band included Coverdale, bassist Rudy Sarzo, drummer Tommy Aldridge, and guitarists Adrian Vandenberg and Steve Vai. Vandenberg and Coverdale co-wrote all but one song on the album, but Vandenberg couldn’t record them in the studio at the time due to a hand injury. To fill the void, Vai joined the band for the album and tour.

“Slip Of The Tongue: 30th Anniversary Edition” features unreleased versions of every album track, as well as monitor mixes for the album recorded in 1989. In addition, the collection includes nearly two dozen previously unreleased tracks taken from the session tapes that highlight working versions of album tracks and more. The set also includes the CD debut of “Slip Of The Tongue: The Wagging Tongue Edition”. Released exclusively on vinyl in 1989, it features Coverdale being interviewed about each track followed by the song.

“Slip Of The Tongue: 30th Anniversary Edition” finishes big with Whitesnake’s 1990 headlining performance at the Monsters Of Rock festival at Castle Donington on CD and DVD. The DVD also includes three music videos, all of which have been carefully restored and remixed in 5.1 Surround Sound for the first time ever. A new promo video for the track “Sweet Lady Luck”, made exclusively for this set, a behind the scenes look at the making of the album, plus a newly recorded interview with Coverdale and Vandenberg rounds out the DVD.

“Slip Of The Tongue: 30th Anniversary Edition” track listing:

Disc One: Original 1989 Album (2019 Remaster)

01. Slip Of The Tongue

02. Kittens Got Claws

03. Cheap An’ Nasty

04. Now You’re Gone

05. The Deeper The Love

06. Judgment Day

07. Sailing Ships

08. Wings Of The Storm

09. Slow Poke Music

10. Fool For Your Loving

Bonus Tracks: B-Sides and Alternate Mixes:

11. Sweet Lady Luck (Single B-Side)

12. Now You’re Gone (Chris Lord-Alge Single Remix)

13. Fool For Your Loving (Vai Voltage Mix)

14. Slip Of The Tongue (Alternate Intro & Breakdown)

15. Cheap An’ Nasty (Alternate Solo & End)

16. Judgment Day (Alternate & Extended Solos)

17. Fool For Your Loving (Alternate AOR mix with CHR intro)

Disc Two: The Wagging Tongue Edition (CD Debut)

01. Interviewer: Phil Eastman

02. Spoken Word: “Slip Of The Tongue” Interview

03. Slip Of The Tongue

04. Spoken Word: “Cheap An’ Nasty” Interview

05. Cheap An’ Nasty

06. Spoken Word: “Fool For Your Loving” Interview

07. Fool For Your Loving

08. Spoken Word: “Now You’re Gone” Interview

09. Now You’re Gone

10. Spoken Word: “Kittens Got Claws” Interview

11. Kittens Got Claws

12. Spoken Word: “Wings Of The Storm” Interview

13. Wings Of The Storm

14. Spoken Word: The Deeper The Love Interview

15. The Deeper The Love

16. Spoken Word: “Judgment Day” Interview

17. Judgment Day

18. Spoken Word: “Slow Poke Music” Interview

19. Slow Poke Music

20. Spoken Word: “Sailing Ships” Interview

21. Sailing Ships

22. Spoken Word: Closing Interview

Disc Three: Evolutions: Demos/Remixes/Re-records

01. Slip Of The Tongue *

02. Cheap An’ Nasty *

03. Now You’re Gone *

04. Judgment Day *

05. Sailing Ships *

06. Kittens Got Claws *

07. The Deeper The Love *

08. Wings Of The Storm *

09. Slow Poke Music *

10. Fool For Your Loving *

11. Kill For The Cut *

12. Parking Ticket *

13. Sweet Lady Luck (Instrumental) *

Disc Four: Monitor Mixes, April 1989

01. Kittens Got Claws *

02. Cheap An’ Nasty *

03. The Deeper The Love *

04. Judgment Day *

05. Slow Poke Music *

06. Now You’re Gone *

07. Slip Of The Tongue *

08. Fool For Your Loving *

09. Wings Of The Storm *

10. Sailing Ships *

11. Sweet Lady Luck *

12. Parking Ticket *

13. Kill For The Cut (In Desperate Search Of A Melody) *

14. Burning Heart *

15. Ain’t Gonna Cry No More (Instrumental) *

16. We Wish You Well *

Disc Five: A Trip To Granny’s House: Session Tapes, Wheezy Interludes & Jams

01. Slow Poke Music *

02. Slip of The Tongue *

03. Judgment Day *

04. Now You’re Gone *

05. Wings Of The Storm *

06. Sailing Ships *

07. Liquor And Poker *

08. Parking Ticket *

09. Kill For The Cut *

10. Ain’t Gonna Cry No More *

11. We Wish You Well *

12. We Wish You Well (Instrumental) *

13. Wheezy & Sometimes Very Naughty Interludes (Be Warned!) *

14. Now You’re Gone (Revisited) *

15. Death Disco *

16. Whitesnake Boogie *

17. Mike Clink’s Shoes Blues *

18. Snake Shuffle (Instrumental) *

19. Doodles *

20. Dementia Polka *

21. Kill For The Cut Blues *

22. Cuban Heel Blues *

23. Adje’s Blues *

Disc Six: Live at Donington 1990

01. Slip Of The Tongue

02. Slide It In

03. Judgment Day

04. Slow An’ Easy

05. Kittens Got Claws

06. Is This Love

07. Cheap An’ Nasty

08. Crying In The Rain

09. Fool For Your Loving

10. Here I Go Again

11. Bad Boys

12. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City

13. Still Of The Night

Disc Seven: DVD-Video: Live at Donington 1990

01. Slip Of The Tongue

02. Slide It In

03. Judgment Day

04. Slow An’ Easy

05. Kittens Got Claws

06. Adagio For Strato

07. Flying Dutchman Boogie

08. Is This Love

09. Cheap An’ Nasty

10. Crying In The Rain (featuring Tommy Aldridge Drum solo)

11. Fool For Your Loving

12. For The Love Of God

13. The Audience Is Listening

14. Here I Go Again

15. Bad Boys

16. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City

17. Still Of The Night

18. End Credits: We Wish You Well

Promo Videos:

19. Fool For Your Loving – Music Video

20. Now You’re Gone – Music Video

21. The Deeper The Love – Music Video

Bonus Features:

22. Sweet Lady Luck – Purplesnake Video

23. Behind the Scenes: The Making of Slip Of The Tongue

24. A Look Back: Whitesnake Chronicles with DC & Adrian Vandenberg

* previously unreleased