Whitesnake Shares New Lyric Video for Previously Unreleased Song “Always The Same”

Whitesnake is releasing a new album, the first in a series of new releases that features revisited, remixed, and remastered versions of the group’s best songs organized by musical themes. The Rock Album, a new collection that features the group’s best rock songs. The album is the first release in the band’s “Red, White And Blues” trilogy, a series of fresh, new collections organized by musical themes that will include: Love Songs (red), The Rock Album (white) and The Blues Album (blue). Watch the new lyric video for a brand new previously unreleased song, ‘ Always The Same’ right now!

“The Rock Album” will be available on June 19 on CD ($14.98), and as a double-LP set pressed on 180-gram, white vinyl ($31.98) and is available for pre-order now. The music also will be available through digital and streaming services. The collection features the debut of “Always The Same”, a previously unreleased song that was recorded during the 2019 sessions for “Flesh & Blood”. The band just released the official lyric video for the song on its YouTube channel (see below).

In the album’s liner notes, Whitesnake founder and lead singer David Coverdale writes: “All the songs have been revisited, remixed and remastered. Some have been musically embellished where my co-producer Michael McIntyre, my new mixer Christopher Collier and I felt it appropriate or necessary to bring out the best in these songs.”

“The Rock Album” spans over three decades with songs originally released between 1984 and 2011 on six Whitesnake studio albums. One track — “She Give Me” — is taken from Coverdale’s 2000 solo album “Into The Light”.

The group’s music from the 1980s is well represented by “Love Ain’t No Stranger” from “Slide It In” (1984) and “Judgement Day” from “Slip Of The Tongue” (1989), as well as “Still Of The Night”, “Give Me All Your Love” and the No. 1 smash “Here I Go Again” from WHITESNAKE’s 1987 self-titled album, which has been certified mega-platinum.

“Restless Heart” (1997) gets its due on the collection with four songs, including the blistering “Can’t Stop Now”. “The Rock Album” also features music from 2008’s “Good to Be Bad” (“Best Years” and “Can’t You Hear The Wind Blow”), in addition to the title track from 2011’s “Forevermore”. Other highlights from “The Rock Album” include a remixed version of “All Or Nothing” that features additional guitars pulled from the original multi-track tapes, plus an alternate arrangement of “Tell Me How” from “Forevermore”.

Earlier in the month, Whitesnake released a 35th-anniversary remix of “Slide It In” as a 2LP set on 180-gram transparent red vinyl. Whitesnake scored its first platinum-selling album in 1984 with “Slide It In”, a release that has sold more than six million copies worldwide thanks to hard-rocking songs like “Love Ain’t No Stranger”, “Slow An’ Easy” and the title track.

“The Rock Album” CD track listing:

01. Still Of The Night

02. Best Years

03. Tell Me How

04. Love Ain’t No Stranger

05. All Or Nothing

06. Give Me All Your Love

07. Can You Hear the Wind Blow

08. Restless Heart

09. Anything You Want

10. Here I Go Again

11. Judgement Day

12. She Give Me

13. Crying

14. Can’t Stop Now

15. Always The Same *

16. Forevermore

LP track listing:

Side A:

01. Still Of The Night

02. Best Years

03. Tell Me How

04. Love Ain’t No Stranger

Side B:

01. All Or Nothing

02. Give Me All Your Love

03. Can You Hear the Wind Blow

04. Restless Heart

Side C:

01. Anything You Want

02. Here I Go Again

03. Judgement Day

04. She Give Me

Side D

01. Crying

02. Can’t Stop Now

03. Always The Same *

04. Forevermore

* previously unreleased