Watch Mastodon’s New Video – “Fallen Torches”, New Album Out Now

Mastodon has released a brand new video for their single, “Fallen Torches”. The track is the lead single from their new compilation album Medium Rarities, out now via Reprise Records(review here). Fallen Torches’ is written by Mastodon and features guest vocals by longtime friend and collaborator Scott Kelly from the band Neurosis.


‘Fallen Torches’ is an unreleased track from Mastodon that will appear for the first time on “Medium Rarities” – a collection of rare tracks released digitally for the first time. Proceeds for the album are going to the Hirshberg Foundation for Pancreatic Cancer Research in his honor.

Album pre-orders begin today and will include an instant download of “Fallen Torches.” Pre-order and pre-save here here to view and share the “Fallen Torches” visualizer.


“Medium Rarities” presents a bevy of classic covers, soundtrack contributions, instrumentals, B-sides, and live recordings on one complete package for the very first time. Among an eclectic array of covers, the musicians tackle “A Commotion” by Feist, “A Spoonful Weighs A Ton” by The Flaming Lips, and “Orion” by Metallica. It also features soundtrack cuts such as “White Walker” [Game of Thrones] and “Cut You Up With A Linoleum Knife” [Aqua Teen Hunger Force]. Meanwhile, they get under the hood with instrumental versions of “Asleep in the Deep,” “Toe To Toes,” “Jaguar God,” and “Halloween.” 14 of these tracks have never been available on streaming platforms until now.


Another new Mastodon track “Rufus Lives” will be included in the forthcoming Orion Pictures film Bill & Ted Face The Music, expected to be released August 28th. Written, performed and produced by the band and recorded in their hometown of Atlanta, the track will also appear exclusively on the film’s official soundtrack album. Further details to be revealed shortly.


The anniversary celebration only continues. At the moment, Mastodon are hard at work on their anxiously awaited ninth full-length and first record since the GRAMMY® Award-winning Emperor of Sand in 2017.

Medium Rarities Tracklisting:

Fallen Torches (Previously Unreleased)

A Commotion (Feist Cover)

Asleep in the Deep (Instrumental version)

Capillarian Crest (Live)

A Spoonful Weighs A Ton (The Flaming Lips Cover)

Toe To Toes (Instrumental version)

Circle of Cysquatch (Live)

Atlanta (Feat. Gibby Haynes)

Jaguar God (Instrumental)

Cut You Up With A Linoleum Life (Aqua Teen Hunger Force)

Blood & Thunder (Live)

White Walker (Game of Thrones)

Halloween (Instrumental version)

Crystal Skull (Live)

Orion (Metallica Cover)

Iron Tusk (Live)



Follow Mastodon: