The Rage Against the Machine Reunion Effectively Ends Prophets of Rage

With the news of the reunion of Rage Against the Machine, Prophets of Rage’s chapter as a band carrying on that legacy is now over. That supergroup included Tom Morello (guitar), Brad Wilk (drums) and Tim Commerford of RATM along with HipHop legends Chuck D of Public Enemy and B-Real of Cypress Hill. Just after the RATM reunion was announced for a series of shows in 2020, including an appearance at next year’s Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival, Chuck and B-Real each posted to social media confirming their band is done.

B-Real posted on his Instagram to write:

‘I want to say thank you to the fans that supported @prophetsofrage for the time we’ve been rocking together. It’s been an honor to rock stages and people of all ages with these guys. It’s been a great time and great memories in a short time. Rockin along side of Chuck and Tom has been amazing to say the least. It was fun while it lasted and I hope we left a big impression and that the music has been a source of inspiration for those that needed it. That was the purpose we got together. So I say to y’all stay informed, stay engaged and fight the good fight.’

Chuck D chimed in via Twitter, writing: ‘It was about doing something greater than self. 2020 keeping ZDLR spot warm for @RATM & powering a statement for 1000 days was a honorable truth mission in the hours of chaos from the jump… And so the bands rock on…. Let’s go @cypresshill @PublicEnemyFTP @prophetsofrage’

In response to one of the fans on Instagram, B-Real clarified Prophets of Rage’s status, writing: ‘The band is no more, bro’

Prophets of Rage was formed in early 2016, called to action by the election of President Donald Trump. At its live shows, the band performed material from all of its members’ prior projects as well as similarly styled new songs. Prophets of Rage made its live debut in May 2016 in Los Angeles and released its first album in September 2017. The band has since issued three standalone singles: ‘Heart Afire’, ‘Made With Hate’ and ‘Pop Goes The Weapon’, the latter of which arrived in September. The band was to release a new album in 2020. It’s unknown if that album will be released.