Ghost Cult Album Of The Year 2016 Countdown Part II



Heavy music. We don’t just love it, we breathe and live it. And we want you to drink in every album that made the list of our favourite albums of 2016. Heading to the business end, to find out even more of the very best of the very best of this years’ heavy music, read on…Continue reading

Video: Borknagar -Winter Thrice

Borknagar Winter thrice

Norwegian black metal legends Borknagar has unveiled their début video for the title track of their forthcoming album, their tenth in their career. Winter Thrice releases on January 22nd, 2016 from Century Media Records. You can watch the video for the ‘Winter Thrice’ track at this link or below:


Directed by David Solbjorg and Kjetil Kolbjornsrud of Twitchy Films, the ‘Winter Thrice’ track features former/original vocalist and Ulver-mastermind Kristoffer Rygg on guest vocals.


Borknagar Guitarist and founder Øystein G. Brun commented about the video:

“Finally it’s time to present our brand new video for the song “Winter Thrice”. Being the title track for the 10th album, we wanted this to be something special. We are indeed a special band. The song and the video features all the 4 vocalists throughout our 20 years of adventure, including Kristoffer Rygg a.k.a. Garm, who was our very first vocalist back in the days. The video was produced by the eminent team from Twitchy Films and was captured at various locations in Norway; first and foremost at the amazing Midgard Historiske Senter at Borre, but also in the furious wilderness of the wintry Telemark. We all laid our hearts into this project, we hope that shines through! Enjoy and happy holidays!”


Borknagar 2-16


Borknagar Winter Thrice track listing:

1. The Rhymes Of The Mountain

2. Winter Thrice

3. Cold Runs The River

4. Panorama

5. When Chaos Calls

6. Erodent

7. Noctilucent

8. Terminus

Pre-Order Winter Thrice here:

In celebration of the album release Borknagar has released a special branded, band-themed Beard Oil:

Borknagar confirmed festival dates for 2016:

Jun 17 – 19: Graspop Metal Meeting – Dessel, BE
Jul 03: With Full Force – Roitzschjora, DE

Aug 04 – 06: Wacken, Wacken DE


Borknagar line-up:

Øystein G. Brun – Clean and Electric Guitars

Vintersorg – Grim Vocals, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Jens F. Ryland – Lead Guitars

ICS Vortex – Bass, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Lars A. Nedland – Keys, Clean Vocals and Choirs

Baard Kolstad – Drums


Borknagar online:

Borknagar’s Blog

Borknagar on Facebook

Borknagar on Twitter


[amazon asin=B0196JSGWY&template=iframe image]