Dark Tranquillity, The Resistance Performing at Gothenberg Sound Festival

gothenburg sound festival 2015

The Gothenberg Sound Festival is set at Tradgarn in Gothenberg, Sweden on January 2-3, 2015. The confirmed acts to perform include:

Dark Tranquillity
The Order Of Israfel
The Resistance
Ice Age

gothenberg sound festival clinics

There will also be a musical clinic held and the confirmed speakers are:

Björn Englén (Yngwie Malmsteen, Dio Disciples, Quiet Riot)
Johan Niemann (Evergrey, Tiamat)
Snowy Shaw (King Diamond, Dream Evil)
Sayit Dölen (Yngwie Malmsteen, Enrique Iglesias etc.)

The Resistance Releasing Torture Tactics EP In February, Full Length In April/May

Marco Aro and Jesper Stromblad of The Resistance

Marco Aro and Jesper Stromblad of The Resistance

The Resistance is releasing a new mini album titled Torture Tactics on February 27, 2015 via earMUSIC. A full length album is expected to follow in April/May 2015.

According to a press release, Torture Tactics is 30 minutes of a good old slap in the face. It jumps at you with its pure aggression, speedy and heavy guitars, the obvious heavy distortion and the extreme beats. Topped with the distinctive angry growling vocals of Marco Aro – who is literally screaming his lungs out – the brand new six songs are a boisterous statement.

Additionally, the mini-album features four bonus tracks: two songs each taken from the band’s last EP Rise From Treason and the last album Scars.

The Resistance’s impressive line-up is as heavy as the sound of their musical adventure. The four Swedish musicians carry a great legacy in the long Scandinavian extreme metal tradition. In Flames founding member (and main songwriter until his departure in 2010) Jesper Strömblad is one of the “columns” of the huge Resistance sound. Glenn Ljungström (ex-In Flames), vocalist Marco Aro (The Haunted, ex-Face Down), drummer Chris Barkensjö (ex-Kaamos, ex-Grave) and the new addition Rob Hakemo (ex-M.A.N.) on bass complete The Resistance’s high calibre line-up.

The Resistance is
Marco Aro – vocals
Jesper Strömblad – guitar
Glenn Ljungström – guitar
Chris Barkensjö – drums
Rob Hakemo – bass

the resistance torture tactics

1. For War*
2. Dead*
3. Cowards*
4. Deception*
5. The Burning*
6. Dying Words*
7. Slugger
8. Expand To Expire
9. Face To Face
10. I Bend You Break

*song 1-6 – brand new songs

earMusic on YouTube