Kronos Releasing Arisen New Era On July 24th


French death metallers Kronos will be releasing their new album Arisen New Era via Unique Leader Records on July 24, 2015. The album was recorded, mixed and mastered by David Potvin at Dome Studios (Lyzanxia, Arcania, Under The Abyss etc.) in Angers, France, and the distinctive cover art was done by Pierre Alain (Withering Soul, Silentlie, Cyrax etc.).

Arisen New Era Track Listing:
01” Infernal Abyss Sovereignty
02: Zeus Dethroned
03: Soul-Voracious Vultures
04: Rapture in Misery
05: Klymenos Underwrath
06: Aeons Titan Crown
07: Brotherlords
08: Purity Slaughtered
09: Hellysium

Unique Leader Records on Facebook
Unique Leader Records on Twitter
Unique Leader Records on YouTube

Silentlie – Layers of Nothing


10 years after forming, Italian goth rockers Silentlie have finally released their début album, Layers of Nothing (Bakerteam). The band – Giorgia Sacco Taz (vocals), Luigi Pressacco (guitars), Davide Sportiello (bass & Keyboards) and Andrea Piergianni (drums) – have previously managed to release two EPs, but perhaps should have taken a bit longer working on this release…

The 10 tracks and 45 minutes on offer provide plenty keyboard-heavy melodic mid-paced rockers featuring lots atmospherics and thick riffs. While it’s not terrible (nor particularly original) there’s little variation in the speed, style or structure and it’s all pretty safe, even occasionally plodding.

Opener ‘Unbreakable’ is a promising start; upbeat and catchy yet retaining plenty of heaviness in the guitars. But it’s more of an exception. Mostly we’re given mid-tempo filler that fails to stir anything other than apathy. There are some decent moments; ‘Slave’ and ‘Change’ almost stray into doom territory, ‘Dark Nights’ has a real 80s metal feel about it and could be a cover of some lost Ozzy Osbourne b-side.

Taz’s vocals are solid; she knows how to carry a tune but there’s not a lot of range outside her low croon or chorus shout. Pressacco’s guitar work is decent through with occasional flourishes, and there’s a decent selection on solos on offer, especially on the likes of ‘My Scream is Silence,’ ‘Unbreakable’ and album closer ‘Dark Nights’.

There’s not much particularly wrong with Layers of Nothing: the vocals are ok, there’s some nice riffs, and a decent amount of guitar solos scattered about the album. But there’s very little to get excited about.

One for people really hankering for a new hit of gothic metal.



Silentlie on Facebook