Free Download: KR3W Presents Winter 2016 Mixtape

kr3w presents winter 2016 mixtape

Southern California record label RidingEasy Records is offering their RidingEasy Winter 2016 Mixtape, presented by KR3W. The mixtape can be streamed or downloaded below.

01: Electric Citizen – “Evil” from the forthcoming album Higher Time out April 2016
02: Mondo Drag – “Out of Sight” from the forthcoming album The Occultation of Light out Feb 2016
03: Slow Season – “Day Glo Sunrise” from the album Slow Season
04: Salem’s Pot – “The Vampire Strikes Back” (Full Version)
05: Zekes – “Box” from Brown Acid – The First Trip compilation
06: Old Man’s Will – “Got It” from the album Hard Times Troubled Man
07: Sons of Huns – “Philosopher’s Stone” from the album While Sleeping Stay Awake
08: Spiral Shades – “Frozen Fear” (Originally performed and written by Bedemon)
09: Holy Serpent – “Shroom Doom” From the album Holy Serpent
10: Spelljammer – “The Pathfinder” From the album Ancient of Days
11: Monolord – “Cursing The One” From the Album Vænir
12: Blackout – “Tannered” from the album Blackout
13: The Well – “Crawling Mist” (McPullish Dub Mix)
14: The Picturebooks – “Learn It The Hard Way” from the album Imaginary Horse

Audio: Free Music From US/Them Group


Check out some new music courtesy of our friends at US/THEM Group below.

01: Indian Handcrafts – It’s Late Queeny (Sargent House)
02: Bill Mountain – Let’s Get It Started (Bill Mountain Music)
03: Mylets – Trembling Hands (Sargent House)
04: Limb – Ghost Dance (New Heavy Sounds)
05: Slow Season – Heavy (RidingEasy)
06: Salem’s Pot – The Vampire Strikes Back (RidingEasy)
07: Ghost Against Ghost – still love [preview edit] (Our Silent Canvas)
08: Jad Fair & Jason Willett – The Greatest Power (Dymaxion Groove)
09: Boss Battle – Ride
10: And So I Watch You From Afar – Wasps (Sargent House)
11: Pink Frost – Striking Violet (Smart Like Virus)
12: Shooting Guns – Barnburner (RidingEasy)
13: Sons of Huns – An Evil Unseen (RidingEasy)
14: Birch – Halfway
15: Mothertapes – Aftermath (SELF Group)
16: Lowercase Noises – Death In A Garden
17: Monolord – Cursing The One (RidingEasy)
18: Spelljammer – The Pathfinder (RidingEasy)
19: Electric Citizen – Beggar’s Need (RidingEasy)
20: Elephant Rifle – Bone Voyage (Humaniterrorist)
21: Birch – Fighting Words
22: Mondo Drag – Shifting Sands (RidingEasy)
23: A Troop of Echoes – Small Fires

Monolord – Salem’s Pot – Wizard Fight: Live at Camden, Black Heart (London)



As my esteemed colleague said to me, you can’t really go wrong with a name like Wizard Fight. They’re right: you can’t and, fair play, to a half filled room on a mid-week winter evening in London Town, this rambunctious trio do their level best to live up to their fabulous moniker. Wizard Fight are loud, fuzzy and grungy in the best way. Observing the well-trodden view of respecting the riff they come over a bit like Mastodon’s pissed off younger brother: it’s all snarls and gruffing but there’s also a tongue placed firmly in cheek especially when you call one of your new song ‘Witches Tit’. Kid you, I do not. Scuzzy, head nodding fun.

I’ve read a lot of press about how well rated Salem’s Pot supposedly are. It usually involves an absurd number and level of adjectives and adverbs and a spectacular level of hyperbole that you’re left wondering whether the band can ever live up to the written hype. Arriving on stage in their best Eyes Wide Shut Venetian ball masks they conjure a sound and experience that is part theatre, part Sabbath tribute and all doom laden, acid drenched majestic heavy metal. There is a genuine frisson of excitement around how genuine and authentic they are. Admittedly there might be something of Electric Wizard in what the band do, but I think this is more of a shared aesthetic than any attempt at facsimile. Across a frankly glorious set list, their smart wordplay, hypnotic riffing and brilliant songs had me lifting my not inconsiderable jaw off the beer soaked floor. Thrilling, transcendent heavy fucking metal. Very special.

We are all here for one thing though, if we were being honest with ourselves. You know, there is something extraordinary about Sweden’s latest doom kings, Monolord. Yes, we know they are heavy. Yes, we know it’s all in B. Yes, we know it rattles the teeth in your gums. But, let me tell you this: let me tell you straight. This is pure, elemental heavy metal from the gut and from the heart. It is headbanging, heart racing, spirit-lifting stuff. It’s a band that are more than the sum of their parts; it’s a band for today and for all times.

Watching a packed and sweaty room go absolutely mental for a punishing and triumphant ‘Empress Rising’ is thrilling; who knew such miserablism could drive such happiness? A midset introduction of new song ‘We Will Burn’ is greeted like some sort of long lost friend, such is the anticipation for the new album, not due to drop for another month or so. It is absolutely brilliant and begets a synchronised bout of head nodding throughout the room. The rest of the set is equally thrilling, a compelling blend of swirling riffs and titanic rhythms. As I pointed out to my Twitter feed, they nailed it.

They absolutely nailed it.

Monolord on Facebook

Salem’s Pot on Facebook

Wizard Fight on Facebook