Thou Releases New Nirvana Covers Album As a Digital Release

Thou rules, and if you are not aware, they do lots of covers. Mainly they do inventive takes on classic songs. Over the years, Thou has released a whole lot of covers and especially Nirvana covers. Sometimes, those covers have been relatively easy to find, as with the version of “Floyd The Barber” on the 2016 Bleach tribute album Doused In Mud, Soaked In Bleach. Some of those covers have been pretty hard to track down. Today, though, Thou has put them all together. Now they have released Blessings Of The Highest Order, a new digital collection of all the Nirvana covers that they’ve released over the years. The album showed up mysteriously on Spotify last week, with no advance warning and no social-media alert from the band. Now it’s on Bandcamp and out via Robotic Empire. Check it out! Continue reading

Album Stream: Whatever Nevermind – Various Artists

nirvana cover-830x350

Robotic Empire’s Nirvana tribute album Whatever Nevermind is now available and is streaming in its entirety below. The album features covers by Torche, Cave In, Kylesa, Boris and many others.

Our second tribute to Nirvana, titled “Whatever Nevermind”, is out today. This album sees Boris, CAVE IN (official),…

Posted by Robotic Empire on Saturday, April 18, 2015

Robotic Empire Releasing Nirvana Tribute Album, Stream Circa Survive’s “Drain You”

nirvana cover-830x350

Robotic Empirewill be releasing a second Nirvana tribute album titled Whatever Nevermind: A Tribute To Nirvana’s Nevermind, for Record Store Day on April 18, 2015. The songs on this focuses on the Nevermind album, and will be released as a 12 inch + 7” set, as well as digital download. Stream Circa Survive‘s “Drain You” below.

Whatever Nevermind: A Tribute To Nirvana’s Nevermind track listing:
01: Young Widows – “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
02: Torche – “In Bloom”
03: Kylesa – “Come As You Are”
04: Cave In – “Breed”
05: Boris – “Lithium”
06: La Dispute – “Polly”
07: White Reaper – “Territorial Pissings”
08: Circa Survive – “Drain You”
09: Touche Amore – “Lounge Act”
10: Wrong – “Stay Away”
11: Pygmy Lush – “On A Plain”
12: Nothing – “Something In The Way”
13: Thou – “Endless, Nameless” (bonus track)
14: Thou – “Even In His Youth” (bonus track)

We are extremely stoked to announce our second tribute to Nirvana, this time with their breakout “Nevermind” album being…

Posted by Robotic Empire on Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Terminal Fuzz Terror – Vol. 0: In the Shadow of the Mountain


Describing themselves as “the sound of the apocalypse coming,” Seattle, WA based Terminal Fuzz Terror provides a pretty fun soundtrack to the end of days. Their upcoming release, Vol. 0: In the Shadow of the Mountain(Robotic Empire), is an interesting trip to the past in at just under forty minutes. Like many other bands to walk the path of psychedelic rock and roll, the band has a retro vibe with vocals that sound like you’re listening to someone sing inside of a tin can. I dig that.

My favorite track off of this album is easily the fast and heavy hitting ‘Megalodon’. I can see this becoming a pit favorite when it comes live performances. It’s the second shortest song on the album but still manages to be a cascade of energy and noise with a touch of punk influences. I might have to make this my beach party anthem for 2015. Bonus Pro Tip: Women love giant sharks. Trust me, I’m a lady.

‘Cycles’ is another fantastic song and I quickly found myself intrigued. The same few notes hypnotize you for the first three minutes of the song before things change over to buzz, fuzz, and distant vocals before eventually fading away. You hit that sweet spot where you can just kick back and get a little fuzzy yourself. You know you’re in the zone when you feel it in your temples; mine are tingling.

I didn’t mean to use the word fuzz so much, given the bands name, but that’s just what it is. While not perfect, Vol. 0: ITSOTM is worthwhile addition to any rock fan’s collection. This becomes truer if they happen to lean more towards the psychedelic side of things. This is a band we’ll all want to keep an eye on and I believe that there will be some truly great things in store for us down the road.



Exclusive Song Premiere: Terminal Fuzz Terror – Cycles



Ghost Cult is proud to kick-off the new week by partnering up with the fine folks at the Robotic Empire label to bring our friends the g-g-g-g-roovy sounds of Terminal Fuzz Terror’snew tripped out track, ‘Cycles’. The track is a pure slab of psychedelic rock, inspired by the masters of the genre, blotter acid firmly between tongue and cheek. ‘Cycles’ comes from TFT’s new opus Vol 0: In The Shadow Of The Mountain which drops on March 3rd. Pre-Sales for limited-editon vinyl (300 pieces only) and digital are live (iTunes) now. Vol 0:.. was recorded at Witch Ape Studio, engineered and mixed by Tad Doyle (TAD) and mastered by James Plotkin.


terminal fuzz terror band 2015