CONCERT REVIEW: Swallow The Sun – Abigail Williams – Wilderun – Live at The Sanctuary

It was a cold, rainy evening last Sunday in Motor City, but that didn’t damper the spirits of those attending the metal show happening at The Sanctuary. Residing in the humble hamlet of Hamtramck, next to Detroit, this music venue is the pulse of the heavy scene for the whole city. Many gathered in the quaint sized concert hall because the Doom Metal masters, Swallow the Sun were in town. This legendary act of doom ‘n gloom is on the road promoting their new album Moonflowers (Century Media Records). Plus, they brought along Abigail Williams and Wilderun as their supporting acts, making it a night filled with decadent heaviness.

Continue reading

PODCAST: Episode #145: Mikko Kotamaki of Swallow The Sun

As our podcast makes its grand return on a new platform –, we are resuming things with some fresh new content! Check out Weslie Negron interviewing Mikko Kotamaki of Swallow The Sun, all about their new album, Moonflowers, out now via Century Media Records. Check it out!

Continue reading

ALBUM REVIEW: Swallow the Sun – Moonflowers

Swallow the Sun is one of those bands that has created a notable amount of music over the years while remaining true to their own unique sound. They have managed to consistently innovate their thoughtful voice while maintaining their originality. For over twenty years, this Finnish act has been a wheel and stern to the Doom Metal genre. They have steered their ship into the darker depths of this vast category and beyond. It has only been two years since we were given their last album, When a Shadow is Forced into the Light (Century Media Records), yet the founder and writer for the band, Juha Raivio still has a lot to say. The group’s eighth full-length record, Moonflowers (Century Media Records) is coming out to expose their deeper levels of heartache and affliction. Continue reading

Swallow The Sun Shares Title Track from New Album – “Moonflowers”

On the heels of releasing their first ever live album, 20 Years Of Gloom, Beauty And Despair – Live in Helsinki, Finnish death doom metallers Swallow The Sun will release a new album – Moonflowers on November 19th via Century Media Records. Along with some of the album formats, there will also come a full bonus album featuring very special instrumental versions of all the regular album tracks. This instrumental album has been composed for strings and recorded at Sipoo Church in Finland. The strings were performed by the group called TRIO NOX from Finland. Starting today, all these instrumental songs will be launched as animated videos, which were created by Dronicon Films — one by one every week, leading up to the first single release of the main album. Listen to the instrumental version of “Moonflowers Bloom In Misery (Trio NOX plays Moonflowers by Swallow the Sun)” right now!

Continue reading