Black Peaks Share New Video for New Single “King”, UK Tour Dates Incoming

One of the most exciting bands in 2019, Black Peaks have just shared a new music video for their song ‘King’, which just dropped on Annie Mac Radio 1 ‘Hottest Record In The World’ on Tuesday 17th September, listen back to the play and interview with frontman Will Gardner (link below). It is the bands first new material in almost a year since the 2018 sophomore album All That Divides. The band will be on tour across UK and Europe through October, London show at The Electric Ballroom (sold out) on the Friday, Oct 11th, with direct support coming from Black Futures and Bitch Falcon, and in Europe, Jamie Lenman and Phoxjaw, and Palm Reader in Scandanavia. Watch the clip now!Continue reading

King – Reclaim The Darkness

King Reclaim The Darkness cover ghostcultmag


King are an Australian melodic blackened metal trio consisting of David Hill, Tony Forde and David Haley, with Hill and Forde previously being band mates in goregrind band The Day Everything Became Nothing. Their debut album Reclaim The Darkness (Indie Recordings) was recorded over a two-year span, with a great attention to detail throughout the process. Combine that with the talent involved has resulted in one of the best albums of 2016. Continue reading

Fleshgod Apocalypse – King

Fleshgod Apocalypse - King - Album cover

Over the years, I have heard people mention that the earliest forms of heavy metal came from what is now known as classical music. With that in mind, Fleshgod Apocalypse have once again put together an album with equal elements of death metal and symphonic elements. King (Nuclear Blast) builds off of previous releases from the Italian metal outfit and certainly went for it all on this album. From the instrumental ‘March Royale’ to the closing piano outro of the title track, Fleshgod Apocalypse will have you head banging and then picking your jaw up off the ground.

King was a hard album to try and narrow down on favorites. I liked the tracks that were overly death metal, but also loved the overly symphonic songs with epic choruses. ‘Healing Through War’ is a great mix of both. The syncopation of all of the elements throughout the song give you that death metal feel but keep you grounded with the piano and over the top symphony orchestration. For the fans who love the slow, heavy tracks, ‘Cold As Perfection’ absolutely slays. The chugging guitars (and accompanying orchestration) over the consistent double bass attack will certainly get your neck cranking. ‘And The Vulture Beholds’ may be the best track on the whole album as it blends in more death metal elements with over the top orchestration which culminates to some of the most epic passages I have heard in quite awhile. Around the three minute mark is where most fans will collectively shit themselves if this song makes the cut for a live set.

All in all, King is a solid album that could see its way onto my Top 20 come year end depending on how the rest of this year pans out (yes it is still early, but believe the hype!) The downside of the album was the track ‘Paramour (Die Leidenshaft Bringt Leiden)’ based on its placement in the middle of the album. Perhaps it would have been suited at the tail end of the album in place of ‘King’. The song itself is actually quite enjoyable, but it just brings the flow of the album to a screeching halt for almost four minutes and then picks back up. Regardless, Fleshgod fans will certainly enjoy this record even if only for the improvement of the mix/production from the last album.



[amazon asin=B019A78T4M&template=iframe image1]

Audio: Fleshgod Apocalypse – The Fool

Fleshgod Apocalypse the fool single

Symphonic technical death metal leaders Fleshgod Apocalypse are releasing their new album, King, (Nuclear Blast) this winter. The band is streaming their new single, the first from King entitled ‘The Fool’. You can stream ‘The Fool’ at this link or below:

‘The Fool’ will be available for purchase on January 1st, along with pre-orders of King as well. The band has commented on the single:

“‘The Fool’ is one of the craziest songs of the album and we felt like it was a perfect way to let people approach our new work. It’s a song without compromises and because of the character it is about, we had the chance to get into a profound matter that concerns us all.”


Recorded at Kick Recording and 16th Cellar studios in Rome, King was mixed and mastered Jens Bogren (Amon Amarth, At The Gates, Arch Enemy) at Fascination Street studio in Sweden. Artwork was created by acclaimed album artist Eliran Kantor (Testament, Iced Earth, Kataklysm, Hatebreed). The band has also booked a tour of North America for this winter.

Fleshgod apocalypse usa tour admat winter 2016

King tracklisting:
01. Marche Royale
02. In Aeternum
03. Healing Through War
04. The Fool
05. Cold As Perfection
06. Mitra
07. Paramour (Die Leidenschaft bringt Leiden)
08. And The Vulture Beholds
09. Gravity
10. A Million Deaths
11. Syphilis
12. King

Bonus Orchestral CD (digipak only):
01. Marche Royale
02. In Aeternum
03. Healing Through War
04. The Fool
05. Cold As Perfection
06. Mitra
07. And The Vulture Beholds
08. Gravity
09. A Million Deaths
10. Syphilis

Formats for King:
Digipak (incl. bonus orchestral CD)

Digipak + TS bundle (various sizes)

Pre-order King now here:


[amazon asin=B01952RYDE&template=iframe image]