EXCLUSIVE PREMIERE: Martin Rubashov “Lights of July” ft. Jonas Renkse of Katatonia

Dark folk artist Martin Rubashov has released a breath-taking new video for his new single, “Lights of July” featuring Jonas Renkse From Katatonia. The track is out now from Rubashov’s label, Despotz Records. The track is beautifully composed, with philosophical lyrics and stunning vocals to cap it off. Watch the clip for “Lights of July” now!Continue reading

Katatonia Shares “The Winter of Our Passing” Video, New Album Out Today

Katatonia has released their new album today, City Burials, via Peaceville Records. Now you can 1watch the new music video ‘The Winter of Our Passing’ for the track below! The clip is a stunning animated video, created by the incredibly talented artist Costin Chioreanu of Twilight 13 Media. The band have also announced details for a live streaming show on May 9th from Sweden’s Studio Grondahl. Please see below for more details on that below.Continue reading

October Tide – In Splendor Below

The Swedish Death/Doom Metal group, October Tide originally started out as a side project by Katatonia’s vocalist, Jonas Renkse and their now former guitarist, Fred Norrman nearly 25 years ago. These Scandinavian fellas had some fire behind them but disbanded after they released their second studio album. A decade past and Norrman decided to bring the heat of their Doom Metal goodness back to life. Now OT is ready to release their Sixth studio album, In Splendor Below (Agonia Records) and this band’s melancholy blaze is burning brighter than ever.Continue reading

The Ocean Collective Shares New Single “ Devonian: Nascent”

The Ocean Collective (sometimes just referred to just as The Ocean) have shared the second single from their massive new album Phanerozoic I, coming soon from Metal Blade Records. ‘Devonian: Nascent’ is a killer track and features Jonas Renkse of Katatonia on vocals. Jam it out now.Continue reading

Katatonia – The Fall of Hearts

Katatonia – The Fall of Hearts album cover ghostcultmag

The old adage is that there is no true substitute for experience. While for the young and easily impressionable tend to view that sentiment as trite, it rings mightily true for Katatonia on their 10th studio album, The Fall of Hearts (Peaceville). Over twenty years of masterful work are on display over the course of 12 new compositions in which hardly a moment feels out-of-place or without purpose.

All of the familiar elements from Katatonia’s previous works are present, ranging from the doom/death of songs like ‘Serac’ and ‘Sanction’ to numbers dripping with weariness and melancholy such as in ‘Old Heart Falls.’ Take note young musicians, you don’t have to always aim to reshape the genre. Sometimes just a strongly honed craft and sound songwriting chops are all that is needed.

Need an example on how to appreciate these Swedes’ proficiency? Check out how Jonas Renkse’s dusky vocals interplay so well with the serpentine guitar work on ‘Takeover.’ And notice how said flowing guitars work their way seamlessly right into ‘Serein.’ Much praise to veteran guitarist and producer Anders Nyström and recently added Tiamat axeman Roger Öjersson for their precise and lush fretwork.

But it’s not just a guitar showcase and subtle elements such as new drummer Daniel Moilanen’s slight yet echoing cymbal and footwork add much more dimension to ‘The Night Subscriber’ and ‘Passer.’ Mixing and mastering were of course handled by veteran engineer Jens Bogren to ensure maximum aural richness and clarity.

The Fall of Hearts’ greatest strength is in its precision and economy of song. Lesser outfits would have buckled under the weight of gothic miasma or overindulgence. Author Malcolm Gladwell argues that it takes 10,000 hours of practice to achieve mastery in a field. Katatonia have obviously put in their time.



[amazon asin=B01CTGFKC0&template=iframe image1]

Video: October Tide – In Studio Report

october tide

Swedish melodic doom/death metallers October Tide are streaming an in-studio video, which includes a preview of a new song along with a comment by band vocalist Alexander Högbom below. The new album is expected out in early 2016 via Agonia Records.

Formed in 1995 by Katatonia members, Jonas Renkse and Fred Norrman, October Tide spawned two, now-cult releases: Rain Without End (1997) and Grey Dawn (1999), before going on hiatus for over 11 years. Reunited in 2009, the Swedes continue to push their vision of characteristic melodic doom/death metal to the next level. With a new full-time drummer Jocke Wallgren (Valkyrja, Astrophobos), October Tide are fully engaged in working on their 5th studio album, due out in 2016.

Alexander Högbom (vocals) commented on the upcoming album:

This is undoubtedly the best and most emotionally charged material October Tide has created, in my opinion. I know how much hard work Fredrik has put into making this album and you can really feel the thought behind it all. I almost injured myself physically and was close to pass out a couple of times during the recording of the vocals. I gave it all to match the intense music and those powerful lyrics and I’m very happy with the result“.

On the new record deal, Emil Alstermark (guitars) added:

During the first glance at this label you KNOW they are into metal. We have always had an good eye to Agonia Records and their great ways of spreading heavy sounds all over the world. As for the deal itself we are very pleased with the terms and conditions which are some serious shit. Agonia is a killer label and a perfect partner to October Tide“.

Bloodbath teams up with Record Store Day for upcoming single



Swedish death metallers, Bloodbath, is releasing the title track from their forthcoming fourth album Grand Morbid Funeral (out November 18th via Peaceville) for Record Store Day/Black Friday 2014. Stream the song here.
Grand Morbid Funeral was recorded and mixed at Ghost Ward Studios and the City of Glass Studios in Stockholm, Sweden by David Castillo. Chris Reifert and Eric Cutler of Autopsy have guest appearances on the record.

The present Bloodbath lineup is:

Jonas Renkse – Bass
Anders “Blakkheim” Nyström – Guitar, Vocals
Martin Axenrot – Drums
Per “Sodomizer” Eriksson – Guitar
Nick Holmes – Vocals

bloodbath album covwer

The track listing for Grand Morbid Funeral is as follows:

01. Let the Stillborn Come to Me
02. Total Death Exhumed
03. Anne
04. Church of Vastitas
05. Famine of God`s Word
06. Mental Abortion
07. Beyond Cremation
08. His Infernal Necropsy
09. Unite in Pain
10. My Torturer
11. Grand Morbid Funeral


Bloodbath on Facebook

Katatonia – Dethroned And Uncrowned

Katatonia Re-recording albums are generally hit and miss and often acoustic reworking of songs can be a little off the mark. What’s quite puzzling about Katatonia’s Dethroned And Uncrowned is that they have entirely re-recorded their latest album, Dead End Kings from 2012, in mostly acoustic form.Continue reading