Twitching Tongues Surprise Releases New Album “Disharmony Zero”

Twitching Tongues have dropped a surprise release today dubbed Disharmony Zero via Metal Blade. The release includes two previously unreleased demos: ‘Insatiable Sin Zero’ and ‘Asylum Ave Zero’. Recorded, mixed and mastered at The Pit in Van Nuys, CA by Taylor Young in March 2015, this recording features the band’s Colin Young on vocals and drums, and Taylor Young on guitar, bass, and vocals. Previous studio versions of the two tracks were on 2015’s Disharmony. Buy and stream it below. Continue reading

Twitching Tongues – Disharmony


It’s not often bands criticize their own work, but Twitching Tongues have admitted themselves that in the beginning their sound was “all over the place”. The Los Angeles-based quintet are back and they are hoping to rectify their previous mistakes with their third full-length album Disharmony (Metal Blade).

The title track begins with an extremely haunting piano melody and completely contrasts with your expectations. Although the song soon descends into heavy metal chaos, their newest material is more sophisticated and proves that Twitching Tongues have worked upon their previous mistakes. Many bands often try to simply be the loudest and heaviest, and although there are many kickass guitar riffs on Disharmony, Colin Young and co. are not afraid to show their softer side with a wide range of melodies and clean vocals.

It is often cliché to say that every song on an album sounds different from the last, but Twitching Tongues have been able to create songs which vary in both tempo and genre. ‘Cannibal’ is a fast-paced thrill-ride full of heavy vocals and extreme drumming, whereas ‘Love Conquers None’ has an extremely melancholy vibe, full of emotional backing vocals and an almost ballad-style sound.

There are many conflicting views on Young’s vocals, and it is not as easy as saying ‘you either love them or you hate them’. Colin’s vocal style is not dissimilar to Robb Flynn’s due to the mixture of half-screams and heavy cleans. His dramatic singing may not be to everyone’s taste, and if you are looking for heavy growls and screaming then you are going to be disappointed, but it is certainly hard to ignore how much passion and energy he puts into his vocal performance.

Although the lyrical content may leave much to be desired, it is hard to completely write off Twitching Tongues’ latest release. The band show many signs of promise and it is clear that their recent signing to Metal Blade and their extensive touring schedule has helped them to develop their sound.




Video: Twitching Tongues- Disharmony, Album Due This Fall


Recent signees to Metal Blade Records, Twitching Tongues will release their new album Disharmony on October 30th. You can watch the new video for the title track of the album, directed by Tyler Bradberry, at this link or below:

Pre-orders are now live at

Disharmony track listing:

01. Disharmony
02. Insincerely Yours
03. Asylum Avenue
04. Love Conquers None
05. Insatiable Sin
06. Cannibal
07. Sacrifice Me
08. Arrival
09. The End Of Love
10. Cruci-Fiction