ALBUM REVIEW: Destrage – SO MUCH. too much.


The years have been certainly eventful globally since the last Destrage full-length, 2019’s The Chosen One (Metal Blade). Somewhat eventful.

Continue reading


ALBUM REVIEW: Monolith Zero – Monolith Zero


 

Here comes summer.

From the opening strains of Monolith Zero’s Monolith Zero (Noise Machine), ‘Seeker (Noise Machine)’ it feels like a drive up Route 1 with the breeze in your hair, the Pacific to your left and mountains to the right. It’s open and airy, full of swirling shades of blue. Monolith Zero has a forward galloping momentum that is infectious. The album gives you itchy feet, you just want to get out and drive (or run, or ride a horse really fast)!

Continue reading


EP REVIEW: Ritual – Enigma


Ritual’s Enigma (Self-Released) is an insanely tight EP that boats some of the best names in the music business; all of whom are renowned composers and songwriters. Joining Mike Lewin, Terry Knight, Franco Necros, and James Marinos are Devin Townsend, soprano Dianne van Giersbergen, and jazz harpist Amanda Whiting. The result is a strong release is Enigma that puts a smile on the face of the listener.

Continue reading


CONCERT REVIEW: Devin Townsend (Acoustic) – Cambridge Junction


 

You can tell it’s not going to be a normal gig from the off, as Devin Townsend spends the first few minutes tuning and chatting away, completely at ease, as if the audience was an old friend and he was sat in his living room. As he pings and strums away, musing about whether he likes his upcoming new album Lightworks or not (he decides he does, he thinks it sounds healthy, and good… he thinks, yes definitely good), he sets the tone for a gig that is genuinely intimate – not because it takes place in a small venue, but because Devin is completely natural and wholly authentic throughout. Continue reading


ALBUM REVIEW: Once Human – Scar Weaver


Five years used to feel like a long time in music. Entire scenes have risen, consumed all and fallen away to be a nostalgic footnote (or an ever-lasting sea change) in the same length between Once Human‘s last release and Scar Weaver (earMUSIC), their re-birth of a third album.

Continue reading


ALBUM REVIEW: Voivod – Synchro Anarchy


Thrash. Post-Thrash. Punk. Speed. Sci-Fi. Industrial. Proto-Industrial. Avant Garde. Space. Alternative. Progressive. Nuclear. Some quite frankly preposterously named musical genres and subgenres, but into all of which Canadian act Voivod has been unwillingly pigeon-holed over the years. Having firmly refused to be anchored to any one particular style, the band has actually become a little more settled of late, their current approach now reined all the way back to just including all of the above and a small handful of others.

Continue reading


Devin Townsend to Perform his “Infinity” Album In-Full on An Upcoming Livestream


Devin Townsend has shared a teaser trailer promoting his next quarantine-era livestream! Devy will perform his 1998 album Infinity, in-full. The show takes place live on Saturday, Feb 5th, 12noon PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT / 9pm CET / 7am AEDT (next day). If you miss the stream, the concert will be live for an additional 48 hours. Tickets to the livestream and special merch can be bought at the link below!

Continue reading


Listen to Devin Townsend’s New Album – “The Puzzle”


Devin Townsend has released his new album today- The Puzzle – a total DIY affair. Boxed-sets, physical merch, and more are available from his website and global webstores. The Puzzle has a companion album Snuggles that is also coming soon. Neither of these album are meant to be considered part of Devy’s regular output and he is still releasing yet another new album – Lightworker, in 2022. He has also shared a series of videos and posts explaining his rationale behind this new release, why it is coming out as a DIY project, and why it is different than his other projects. Listen now!

Continue reading