ALBUM REVIEW: Majesties – Vast Reaches Unclaimed


The Swedish death metal scene, especially the Gothenburg-based one with quintessential names like At the Gates, Entombed, and Dark Tranquility surrounding, is indeed all-around influential; many bands heavily inspired by the Gothenburg death metal scene have emerged throughout the past years. The Minneapolis-bound Majesties is one of the said bands. With members originating from the equally groundbreaking extreme metal acts Obsequiae and Inexorum, there was born a convergence, an allied force between those two acts– which is Majesties who recently have just released their first full-length entitled Vast Reaches Unclaimed, through 20 Buck Spin.

Continue reading

CONCERT REVIEW: Dark Tranquility – Kataklysm – Nailed to Obscurity – Live at Crofoot

The temperature was almost in the single digits last Saturday evening when Dark Tranquility brought their Moment tour to Detroit’s northern suburbs. The poorly plowed roads and the negative degree wind chill did not deter Michigan metalheads from witnessing the trailblazers of Gothenburg’s Melodic Death Metal Scene. Everyone briskly trotted into Pontiac’s acclaimed music hall to catch the two opening acts of the evening. Nailed to Obscurity and Kataklysm were invited along on this tour which made for a deliciously stacked bill. Built in 1830, the Crofoot building is a historic phenomenon and local treasure. The large building contains three venues in one and is known for catering to heavier bands. This prized entertainment complex was a fair choice for a night of big, blistering, music.

Continue reading

Former Dark Tranquility Guitarist Fredrik Johansson Has Died

Sad news as former Dark Tranquility Guitarist Fredrik Johansson has died, following a three-year battle with cancer. Johansson joined the band after 1993’s Skydancer album and allowed Mikael Stanne to move permanently to lead vocals. He was memorialized in a post on Dark Tranquiility’s socials. RIP.

Continue reading

Metal Supergroup The Halo Effect (ex-In Flames) Shares Debut Single “Shadowminds”

Previously announced new Metal Supergroup The Halo Effect, featuring former members of In Flames, have released their first new music! The band is streaming the single “Shadowminds” right now at all DSPs. The band unites one-time In Flames members Jesper Strömblad (guitar), Daniel Svensson (drums), Peter Iwers (bass), Niclas Engelin (guitar) and Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquility) (vocals) – a crazy amount of talent. The band will release their debut album via Nuclear Blast in 2022 and will open for new labelmates Machine Head and Amon Amarth next fall in Europe. Check out “Shadowminds” now!

Continue reading

GUEST POST: Sean “ORC Adams” of ORCumentary -Top Albums of the Year 2020


Ghost Cult continues our “End of Year Guest Post Extravaganza” with a slew of posts from bands, industry, PR pros, and more! We’ll be sharing lists, memories, and other shenanigans from our favorite bands, partners, music industry peers, and other folks we respect across the globe. Today’s post brings released an “ORChestrated” version of his classic track “Goblin Death March” as a lyric video. The track is from his upcoming album “Fully ORChestrated” which remakes many of his classic tracks.

Continue reading

NEW MUSIC FRIDAY: November 20th New Music Releases

Purchase And Stream All The New Music Released Today!

Continue reading

Dark Tranquillity Shares New Single and Video for “The Dark Unbroken”

Melo-Death originators Dark Tranquillity have shared a new single and video for the track “The Dark Unbroken’ from their new album, their 12th, Moment, due on November 20 via Century Media. Moment is available for preorder at the link below. The album will be available as a digipak, black LP, silver LP, and CD jewel case. A limited-edition, the translucent yellow vinyl version is available exclusively via Revolver below.

Continue reading

Dark Tranquility Shares New Single “Identical To None”

Dark Tranquility has shared another new single, “Identical To None”, the second single from their forthcoming album Moment, which will be released on November 20 via Century Media. Pre-orders are live for the album at the link below. Listen to the single now and watch the new visualizer!Continue reading

Dark Tranquility Shares New Single “Phantom Days”, New Album “Moment” Incoming

Dark Tranquility has shared a new single, “Phantom Days”, the first new single from their forthcoming album Moment, which will be released on November 20 via Century Media. Pre-orders are live for the album at the link below. Listen to the single now and watch a visualizer!Continue reading

Dark Tranquility Adds Chris Amott and Johan Reinholdz as Members

Dark Tranquility, currently preparing a new album due later in 2020, has announced new permanent members and guitarists Chris Amott and Johan Reinholdz. Both metal veterans have been touring with DT for some time. The band released a statement online from frontman Mikael Stanne, which you can see below. The new album will be the first since 2016’s excellent Atoma (Century Media) album. Continue reading