Panopticon Suprise Releases A New EP, “The Crescendo of Dusk”

Prolific Dark Folk and Black Metal group Panopticon has just released a new two song EP! The Crescendo of Dusk is available to purchase and stream from their Bandcamp. Dedicated to The Northern Lights, this inscription can be found with the stream “This record is in honor of the northern lights, which very few things in the world are more beautiful and awe-inspiring than.” All music written, performed and recorded by Austin Lunn and mixed and mastered by Colin Marston, who also contributed some additional keys. A limited Edition one-sided LP will be available exclusively through Bindrune Recordings in early 2019. Pre-orders will be announced soon. . The cover photo was drawn by Lunn with an additional photo by Bekah Lunn. The bands’ last release was the stellar double album The Scars of Man on the Once Nameless Wilderness (I and II) (Bindrune Recordings). Continue reading

EXCLUSIVE VIDEO PREMIERE: Daemonia Nymphe – The Journey of the Psyche

Daemonia Nymphe is unlike any music you have heard in 2018. Even if you are regular traveler of the unconventional, more avant-garde flavored corner of the pagan and folk genres, this enchanting group will thrill you with their compositions and performances that have much in common with the lighter moments of Enslaved, Arkona, Agalloch, Thrawsunblat, and Wardruna. They just re-released their album Psychostasia last month on Bandcamp, and the group had decided to share their haunting new song ‘The Journey of the Psyche’, and their new video today here at Ghost Cult! Continue reading

EXCLUSIVE PREMIERE: Wolcensmen Streams New Single – “Sunne”

Kvlt Dark Folk artist Wolcensmen is having his album Songs from the Fyrgen re-issued by Indie Recordings on November 30th.  UK guitarist Dan Capp, (Winterfylleth) delved into his fascination with old acoustic ideas he’d written since the late ’90s, inspired largely by Scandinavian bands who had pioneered the inclusion of folk and neo-classical elements. Originally released in 2016, Indie Recordings has recognized this intriguing unique, and challenging artist. The album is completely remixed and remastered and includes a bonus disc of all new songs, including a cover of Bathory’s ‘Man of Iron’. Ghost Cult is proud to share the new single ‘Sunne’ today. Continue reading

Amigo The Devil – Everything Is Fine

Troubador is a terminology almost forgotten to time. Sure it applies to a lot of Indie-Folk and Alternative artists. There are some really great storytellers across different genres in music history: Johnny Cash, Nick Cave, Tom Waits, Neil Young, Eddie Vedder, Loudon Wainwright III, Jaye Jale, Emma Ruth Rundle, The White Buffalo, Marissa Nadler, Chris Smither, Wovenhand, and even the lighter side of artists like Xasthur and Panopticon. Why not mash-up soulful Blues and Country like Hank III, but also Torch Song Art-Punk like Amanda Palmer? It can be done if you have the talent and the ability to convey realness. Fake anything won’t work for this style at all. Amigo The Devil a.ka. Danny Kiranos deals in these realities that point the mirror at the less flattering and absurd moments in life, including at himself. His new album, the Ross Robinson (Korn, Sepultura) produced Every Thing Is Fine (Regime Music Group) conveys this in spades. Continue reading

Thrawsunblat – IV: Great Brunswick Forest

Fans of the legendary Doom outfit Woods of Ypres (RIP David Gold) are aware of bands’ legacy in the North American Doom Metal scene. Former WoY members Joel Violette and Rae Amitay (Immortal Bird) have carried on a kinship through their work together in Thrawsunblat. More of a doom and Dark Folk side-project, it is their link to to the past and boldness to move forward which courses through fourth album IV: Great Brunswick Forest (Ignifera Records). Continue reading