Karina Deniké (Dance Hall Crashers) Releasing Debut Solo CD Under Glass

karina denike

Songwriter chanteuse Karina Deniké (Dance Hall Crashers, The Cottontails) is releasing her debut solo album Under Glass on April 14, 2015 via her website.

Two Karina Deniké Bay Area shows are coming up with more to follow:

Apr 16: Amnesia – San Francisco, CA
Apr 17: Awaken Cafe – Oakland, CA

Centered around Deniké’s powerful vocal performances, and over a backdrop of unusual vintage instrumentation befitting the vinyl medium, the twelve original album tracks on Under Glass are filled with tales of personal and regional history and venture from early rock and roll to Motown soul, vintage torch songs to haunting dreamy soundscapes.

The San Francisco-centric album was co-produced by Karina Deniké along with band mate/recording engineer James Frazier and recorded at various studios including New, Improved Recording in Oakland (Tuneyards, Thao Nyugen, Deerhoof). “It’s a pretty unique ensemble, instrumentation-wise” Deniké explains, “Bass clarinet, vintage organs, baritone electric guitar, celeste, and vibraphone create a certain mood inspired in part by our love of 50s and 60s production. That, combined with a more traditional rock band set-up made recording really interesting. Capturing these sounds within my modern arrangements, was something James Frazier was really able to achieve beautifully.“

Under Glass features an impressive line-up of band mates and guest musicians. The recording includes Karina Deniké on vocals, vintage organs, and celeste, with her band; Aaron Novik on bass clarinet (Tadzik Records, Porto Franco Records); James Frazier on baritone Fender VI guitar; Michael McIntosh on piano and organ (Ralph Carney’s Serious Jass Project, The Cottontails); Eric Garland on drums, vibraphone (Donavon, Mads Tolling). Guests on the album include Lily Taylor (Pour Le Corps Records); Brigid Dawson (Thee Oh Sees); Deston Berry and Alex Dessert (Hepcat) on vocal harmony. Additional contributions include Ralph Carney on saxophone (Tom Waits, The B-52s); Meric Long on guitar (The Dodos, French Kiss); Ara Anderson on trumpet (OK Go, Tin Hat); and Daniel Fabricant on upright bass (Nice Guy Trio, Veronica Klaus).

The twelve tracks on Under Glass are

1. “Park It”
2. “Anchors Away”
3. “Aviatrix”
4. “Musee Mecanique”
4. “Sideshow”
5. “Boxing Glove”
6. “Stop the Horses”
7. Havin’ a Go”
8. “Golden Kimonos”
10. “You’re so Quiet”
11. “Persephone”
12. “Az Budes Velky.”

Karina Denike on Facebook
Karina Denike on Twitter

Fat Mike (NoFX) Holding Home Street Home In San Francisco


Fat Mike (NOFX) will be holding his punk rock musical Home Street Home at the Z Space in San Francisco, CA on February 20-22, February 26-March 1, and March 5-7, 2015.

The musical concept album will be released on February 10, 2015 via Fat Wreck, and will feature new songs from NoFX and guest musicians featuring members of Descendents, Lagwagon, No Use for a Name, Alkaline Trio, Mad Caddies, Frank Turner, The Living End, Old Man Markley, Me First and the Gimme Gimmies, Dropkick Murphys, Bad Cop/Bad Cop, Dance Hall Crashers, The Aggrolites, Limp, The Real McKenzies, Mariachi El Bronx, RKL, and Hedwig & the Angry Inch.