Slipknot Has Almost an Entire Extra New Album of Material Recorded

In a new interview with Kerrang, M. Shawn “Clown” Crahan has revealed that the writing sessions for Slipknot’s We Are Not Your Kind, resulted in far more material than is on the album releasing August 8th from Roadrunner Records. The band has written fifteen addition songs and recorded “at least seven or eight” other songs that didn’t get selected for the album. The tracks are all finished with vocals. Crahan commented:

“Did we know that this was going to be the album? No. No one knows,” he said. “There’s another 15 songs that didn’t make the cut — there’s at least seven or eight songs that are recorded, with vocals, that did not make this album. There’s so much material, but all that material whittled this down to its anomaly, and to its presentation.”

When asked what’s going to happen to these other songs, and why they didn’t make the cut, Clown responded: “Usually you take your collection of records, and you make an album. So we have a bunch of records, and we have to basically decide which ones of those records can make up a thought process known as ‘We Are Not Your Kind’.”