Robb Flynn On Machine Head’s New Album: “Lower Your Expectations For Heaviness And Speed”

Machine Head recently announced that their ninth studio album, Catharsis, will be hitting stores in January of 2018. What can we expect from the new material? Robb Flynn said this in his latest video update, “Lower your expectations for the heaviness, lower your expectations for the speed. If The Blackening was us at our most thrashing and aggressive, this is probably the most melodic and the most grooving we’ve been. There’s little thrashy bits here and there and it’s heavy, but it is a very groovin’, rockin’ melodic record. I’m telling you because I don’t want everybody to think that we’re dropping Reign In Blood – and I could tell you that if I wanted to, I could make you think that we were dropping the heaviest 29 minutes of music ever, but this isn’t. It’s very melodic – for no reason in particular we just decided to write some groovin’, melodic songs and it’s fucking good man. A lot of the songs are shorter. We’ve got a couple of epics – of course we have to have a Machine Head epic, or two, or three. But it’s some good shit man, I’m really excited.

Check out the full update from Robb Flynn below!

North American “Catharsis” World Tour 2018:
Thu 25-Jan Phoenix, AZ – Nile Theater
Sat 27-Jan Albuquerque, NM – Sunshine Theater
Mon 29-Jan San Antonio, TX – Aztec Theater
Tue 30-Jan Dallas, TX – Gas Moneky Live!
Wed 31-Jan Houston,TX – HOB
Fri 02-Feb Birmingham, AL – Saturn
Sat 03-Feb Pensacola, FL – Vinyl MH
Mon 05-Feb Orlando, FL – Plaza Live
Tue 06-Feb Atlanta, GA – Centerstage
Thu 08-Feb Philadelphia, PA – Theatre of Living Arts
Fri 09-Feb New York, NY – Playstation
Sat 10-Feb Boston, MA – Paradise Rock Club
Sun 11-Feb Montreal, QC – Club Soda
Tue 13-Feb Toronto, ON – Danforth MH
Wed 14-Feb Buffalo, NY – Town Ballroom
Thu 15-Feb Pittsburgh, PA – Stage AE
Fri 16-Feb Cleveland, OH – Agora
Sat 17-Feb Detroit, MI – Majestic
Tue 20-Feb Des Moines, IA – Woolys
Wed 21-Feb Madison, WI – Majestic
Thu 22-Feb Minneapolis, MN – First Avenue
Fri 23-Feb Chicago, IL – Concord MH
Sat 24-Feb Saint Louis, MO – Pops
Tue 27-Feb Denver, CO – Summit MH
Thu 01-Mar Las Vegas, NV – HOB
Fri 02-Mar Los Angeles, CA – Fonda
Sat 03-Mar Oakland, CA – The Fox Theater
Mon 05-Mar Portland, OR – Roseland
Tue 06-Mar Vancouver, BC – Commodore
Wed 07-Mar Seattle, WA – Showbox Market

Get your tickets now at Machinehead1.com.