Rivers of Nihil Shares New Single and Video for “Clean” – New Album Incoming

Progressive Death Metal band Rivers of Nihil have announced the release their fourth full-length, The Work, September 24th via Metal Blade Records. The band shared a new single and music video, which they teased last week, for the track “Clean,” directed by Mike Truehart. Watch the clip and pre-order the album at the link below.


The Work can also be pre-ordered in the following formats:

– digipak-CD

– deluxe box set (hardcover box includes: CD digipak (w/ bonus track), blue w/ black & white splatter vinyl, 52-page photo book, slipmat, and exclusive download content)

– 180g black vinyl (EU exclusive)

– silver w/ blue & black splatter vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 500 copies)

– natural clear w/ black & red splatter vinyl (EU exclusive – limited to 300 copies)

– crystal clear w/ white & turquoise splatter vinyl (Kings Road exclusive – limited to 200 copies)

– red / white melt vinyl (EMP exclusive – limited to 200 copies)

– transparent orange w/ black swirls vinyl (Eyesore exclusive – limited to 300 copies)

– silver / black marbled vinyl (Impericon exclusive – limited to 200 copies)

– aqua blue / canary yellow galaxy vinyl (US exclusive)

– white / cyan blue galaxy vinyl (US exclusive)


With guitars and synths/keys tracked at Uttley’s home studio, the band then we went back for the third album in a row to Carson Slovak and Grant McFarland at Atrium Audio to do drums, vocals, bass, sax, and mixing. “We’ve done so many sessions with those guys that they’re basically an extension of our band at this point. They usually know what we like, and we always encourage them to roast us to make stuff better,” says guitarist Brody Uttley. Alongside the band, James Dorton from Black Crown Initiate provided some vocals on “Episode,” Grant McFarland played cello on “The Void From Which No Sound Escapes”, and Uttley’s friend Stephan Lopez helped out with all of the field recordings, an integral part of the sonic textures of the record.


The Work track-listing

  1. The Tower (Theme from “The Work”)
  2. Dreaming Black Clockwork
  3. Wait
  4. Focus
  5. Clean
  6. The Void from Which No Sound Escapes
  7. MORE?
  8. Tower 2
  9. Episode
  10. Maybe One Day
  11. Terrestria IV: Work


Before The Work’s release, Rivers of Nihil will head out on the road with The Black Dahlia Murder, After The Burial, Carnifex, and Undeath for an extensive North American tour. Dates are already selling out (noted below), so be sure to get your ticket now at: https://www.nightshiftmerch.com/pages/up-from-the-sewer-tour-2021


“Up From The Sewer Tour 2021”

w/ The Black Dahlia Murder, After The Burial, Carnifex, Rivers of Nihil, Undeath

Sept. 3 – Chicago, IL @ Concord Music Hall

Sept. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ The Fillmore

Sept. 5 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Rave

Sept. 7 – Grand Rapids, MI @ The Intersection

Sept. 8 – Fort Wayne, IN @ Piere’s

Sept. 9 – Sauget, IL @ Pop’s

Sept. 10 – Lawrence, KS @ Granada Theater

Sept. 11 – Denver, CO @ Summit Music Hall *SOLD OUT!

Sept. 12 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The Complex

Sept. 14 – Seattle, WA @ El Corazon *SOLD OUT!

Sept. 15 – Portland, OR @ Bossanova Ballroom *SOLD OUT!

Sept. 17 – Berkley, CA @ UC Theater

Sept. 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Belasco *SOLD OUT!

Sept. 19 – San Diego, CA @ House of Blues

Sept. 21 – Las Vegas, NV @ House of Blues

Sept. 22 – Mesa, AZ @ Nile Theater

Sept. 24 – Dallas, TX @ GMBG

Sept. 25 – Austin, TX @ Come And Take It Live *SOLD OUT!

Sept. 26 – Houston, TX @ Warehouse Live

Sept. 28 – Atlanta, GA @ Center Stage

Sept. 29 – Greensboro, NC @ Arizona Pete’s

Sept. 30 – Baltimore, MD @ Baltimore Soundstage

Oct. 1 – Columbus, OH @ King of Clubs

Oct. 2 – Pittsburgh, PA @ Roxian Theater

Oct. 3 – Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues

Oct. 5 – Detroit, MI @ St. Andrews Hall

Oct. 6 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Hall

Oct. 7 – Montreal, QC @ Club Soda

Oct. 8 – Worcester, MA @ The Palladium

Oct. 9 – Sayreville, NJ @ Starland Ballroom

Oct. 10 – New York, NY @ Irving Plaza


Photo credit: Mike Truehart


Rivers of Nihil is:

Jake Dieffenbach – lead vocals

Brody Uttley – lead guitar, keyboards

Adam Biggs – bass, backing vocals

Jon Topore – rhythm guitar

Jared Klein – drums, backing vocals


Follow Rivers of Nihi: