Phoxjaw Shares a New Single “Apples” – New Album Incoming

Phoxjaw have released their new single ”apples,” from their forthcoming new album, the amazing- titled notverynicecream, to be released 11th November via Hassle Records. Watch and stream ‘apples’ here:


Pre-order the new album here:


The band comment: “‘Apples’ is a menacing, disorientating rollercoaster ride that descends into disarray. The intention was to convey the plunge into one’s insanity and asks the age-old question: what has anyone done to deserve certain hardships within life? Taking themes from religion, film and cataclysmic events to ponder this idea. One of the sonically bolder tracks from the up and coming album, ‘apples’ sets up the heavy and ugly side of this record.”



Watch the video for ‘thesaddestsongever’ here:


Watch the ‘sungazer’ video here:


notverynicecream is another staggering release from one of the UK’s most inventive and unusual bands. Eclectic, irreverent, titanically heavy and saturated throughout with a signature sense of British whimsy, the album will only see Phoxjaw’s star rising further.



Written in various states of lockdown, notverynicecream is a glimpse into Phoxjaw’s future mindset. A sugar-sweet sense of abandon covers darker feelings of loneliness, depression, and isolation. Where the band’s debut album, Royal Swan, was a record of nationally-expressed extroversion, notverynicecream is Phoxjaw’s declaration of introversion. Nihilism, nostalgia and suffering served in a sugary cone; progressive, punishing sonics glossed over with lustrous hyper-pop influences.


notverynicecream follows a triumphant period for the Bristolian oddballs – the group made their debut Download appearance in 2022, performed two magnificent sets at 2000trees, and have shortly returned from a sell-out tour with Norwegian deathpop group Blood Command, as well as their debut performance at Germany’s Reeperbahn Festival.

Phoxjaw – apples




1: evermore

2: apples

3: icecreamwitch

4: sungazer

5: thesaddestsongever

6: tortoise

7: dancingtrees

8: knives

9: thelastmackerel

10: shotgunlipstick

11: lastmancalledjohn

12: serpentsdripfromtheskies


Phoxjaw are:

Danny Garland – vocals/bass

Josh Gallop – guitar/keys

Kieran Gallop – drums

Alexander Share – guitar/vocals


Follow Phoxjaw: