Overkill Shares a New Single for “The Surgeon” – New Album “Scorched” Details Revealed

Long-in-the-making, Thrash Metal legends Overkill have announced their new album Scorched, their twelfth in their career will be released on April 14th, 2023 via Nuclear Blast Records. Today the band has dropped a new single “The Surgeon” along with a visualizer! The sound of the track is vicious, with all the power of a band rocking it for 40 years, but still present and modern as any band! Watch the visualizer for “The Surgeon” here:


Listen to ‘The Surgeon’ on all streaming platforms:



Pre-order your copy of Scorched here:



Overkill’s Bobby Blitz comments,

“Man, it seems like for F-in ever since we chatted!!!! Ha! I tell you what, this is the longest ever between Overkill releases, Feb ’19 to April ’23.

For me, it became my ‘peterpandemic’ go-to. I wrote my part, tore it down, then again and again. I found myself still changing parts while Colin was mixing! It became the normal in a very abnormal time, sanity amongst the insanity. Somewhere in ‘Scorched’ that is all reflected, a common thread, it is the place I went to get what I needed, maybe what “we” needed. It’s different, that’s for sure, an old-school approach/mix in a modern world… was it worth the wait? You tell me… see ya on the road! Horns up!”


Scorched offered a new recording environment as all members were able to record on their own. The mixing of the record was handled by Colin Richardson and his assistant engineer Chris Clancy. Johnny Rodd helped with producing vocals, and finally, Maor Appelbaum took over mastering and adding finishing touches. The band returned to artist Travis Smith to create the album cover art.

Scorched will be available in the following formats:

CD Jewel

Fluorescent Green Cassette (Limited to 400 worldwide)

Longbox (Limited to 1,000 worldwide)

CD Jewel



Double LP


Aztec Gold (Limited to 2,500 worldwide)

Fresh Green (Limited to 1,000 worldwide)

Trans Amber w. Fluorescent Green


Scorched tracklisting:

  1. Scorched
  2. Goin’ Home
  3. The Surgeon
  4. Twist OF The Wick
  5. Wicked Place
  6. Won’t Be Comin Back
  7. Fever
  8. Harder They Fall
  9. Know Her Name
  10. Bag O’ Bones


Overkill will be hitting our UK soil this year, for a performance at Manorfest, taking place from 26-28th May. Tickets are available here: https://manorfest.org/


Overkill are:

Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth – Vocals

D.D. Verni – Bass

Dave Linsk – Lead Guitar

Derek Tailer – Rhythm Guitar

Jason Bittner – Drums