Noctem Shares a New Single “I Am Alpha”


Black Metallers Noctem have shared their latest single “I Am Alpha,” the lead track to the band’s forthcoming full-length, Credo Certe Ne Cras, to be released 28th October via MNRK Heavy. Check out the video for ‘I Am Alpha’ here:

Pre-order Credo Certe Ne Cras here:


The band elaborate: “Through its musical aspects and lyrical theme, this song delves deep into the depths of anguish, and embodies domination and the existential phenomenology of the human being. A transcendental journey, an awakening, and the realisation that we are the beginning of the end.”


In spirit, presentation, and philosophy, Noctem shares much in common with Watain, Rotting Christ, Belphegor, and Gorgoroth, while sprouting their own decaying branch of a rotten metal tree. Any extreme band with Spanish-style nylon string guitars in their arsenal owes a sizable debt to them.


Noctem – I Am Alpha

Noctem follow on from their previous career landmark in 2019, The Black Consecration, with a new definitive masterpiece, merging the crushing cacophony of angry, adrenaline-fuelled lust with newfound sorrows and mournful melodic might. Credo Certe Ne Cras, (I believe with certainty that there is no tomorrow), is a work of art. The album demands to be experienced as much as listened to, invoking ritualistic examination.


The blood and fire spewed forth by Noctem are visceral, fitting companions to their unrivalled sound, a vicious black metal assault enhanced with a signature Iberian flourish. Arguably the best-known extreme metal export from Valencia, Spain, Noctem’s ungodly path put them in front of cult audiences around the world.


The first metal band from Spain to perform in China, Noctem’s unrelenting touring saw them team up with the likes of Murduk, Batushka, Napalm Death, Immolation, and many more over the years. Dozens of prestigious extreme festivals added them to their line-ups including Bloodstock, Metal Embrace, Metaldays, and Festimetal Santa Catarina.


In 2002, Noctem made their putrid presence felt with their Unholy Blood demo. The God Among Slaves demo followed in 2007, building blood-thirsty anticipation for the band’s proper full-length debut, Divinity (2009).


Oblivion came in 2011, followed by a deal with Prosthetic Records which birthed Exilium (2014) and Haeresis (2016), a concept album entered on the Spanish Inquisition. The Black Consecration (2019) expanded Noctem’s themes of ancient civilisations and dark rites to encompass more of Beleth’s philosophy, previously outlined in the his first book, 2017’s Codex Ante-Morten, released the same year as the band’s homemade beer, A Cruce Salus.


In 2022 and beyond, Noctem take a massive leap forward on their thorn-ridden path, armed with blackened faith and righteous fury, thirsty with unquenchable bloodlust, and prepared to conquer. They arise again without redemption, embracing the chaos of modern times and unafraid of fate


View Noctem’s previously released video for ‘We Are Omega’ here:


Noctem are:

Beleth – vocals

Varu – bass

Voor – drums

Tobal – guitars

Moss – guitars


Credo Certe Ne Cras Track Listing:

  1. I Am Alpha
  2. Sovereign Providence
  3. Sanctum Of Anguish
  4. Credo Certe Ne Cras
  5. Homilia Of Punishment
  6. The Pale Moon Rite
  7. The Tolling Of The Nine Bells
  8. Chalice Of Turpitude
  9. Ceremonial Miasma
  10. We Are Omega