Iron Maiden To Release Double Album The Book Of Souls In September


Iron Maiden will release their long-awaited new record in September, a double album entitled The Book of Souls. Due for release on September 4th from Parlophone Records (Sanctuary/BMG in the USA), it will be their 16th full-length release. Produced by Kevin “Caveman” Shirley in 2014, with a last few finishing touches coming in early 2015, this is Iron Maiden’s first release that is a double album, which is not a live concert recording. The artwork was created by returning cover artist Mark Wilkinson and can be seen below:




The album marks the return of activity for the band who suspended shows and plans while frontman Bruce Dickinson battled cancer, until his recent “all clear” diagnosis. The band is looking to a full return to touring in 2016 as well.


Steve Harris comments on the creation of The Book of Souls:

“We approached this album in a different way to how we’ve recorded previously. A lot of the songs were actually written while we were there in the studio and we rehearsed and recorded them straight away while they were still fresh, and I think that immediacy really shows in the songs, they have almost a live feel to them, I think. I’m very proud of ‘The Book Of Souls’, we all are, and we can’t wait for our fans to hear it, and especially to take it out on the road next year!”


Bruce Dickinson comments as well on the recording process:

“We’re really excited about ‘The Book Of Souls‘ and had a fantastic time creating it. We started working on the album in late summer 2014 and recorded it at Guillame Tell Studios in Paris, where we’d done the ‘Brave New World’ album back in 2000 so the studio holds special memories for all of us. We were delighted to discover the same magical vibe is still alive and very much kicking there! So we immediately felt at home and the ideas just started flowing. By the time we’d finished we all agreed that each track was such an integral part of the whole body of work that if it needed to be a double album, then double its going to be!”


Book of Souls track listing and format details:

The full track listing is:

Disc 1

01. If Eternity Should Fail (Dickinson) 8:28
02. Speed Of Light (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:01
03. The Great Unknown (Smith/ Harris) 6:37
04. The Red And The Black (Harris) 13:33
05. When The River Runs Deep (Smith/ Harris) 5:52
06. The Book Of Souls (Gers/ Harris) 10:27


Disc 2

07. Death Or Glory (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:13
08. Shadows Of The Valley (Gers/ Harris) 7:32
09. Tears Of A Clown (Smith/ Harris) 4:59
10. The Man Of Sorrows (Murray/ Harris) 6:28
11. Empire Of The Clouds (Dickinson) 18:01


* 2CD deluxe hardbound book limited edition
* 2CD standard edition
* Triple heavyweight black vinyl
* High res audio (24-bit Mastered for ITunes and non-Mastered for iTunes)
* Standard res audio (16 bit/ 44.1 kHz)