New Years Day Shares Lyric Video For “Shut Up”, New Album Out Next Week

Rockers New Years Day are releasing their new album Unbreakable next week, on April 26th via RED Music. The band just released a lyric video for their new single ‘Shut Up’, which you can see below!

Ash Costello spoke about the inspiration for the “Unbreakable” album title last month during an interview with Kevan Kenney of the BUILD Series.

She said: “When I really thought about the year it took to write the record, everything that I’ve been through, I really felt like came out unbreakable on the other side. As opposed to our record before this one, where I felt almost like I was too breakable. But now with the fans behind us, and our team behind us, and this new music, I really feel like I’m unbreakable.”

Costello said her favorite track from “Unbreakable” is “Come For Me”, which she described as “a fight song. It’s kind of my invitation to the world that if you’ve got something to say, come say it to my face, “she explained. “I think we can all use a song like that.”

According to Costello, she was in a much different headspace while writing “Unbreakable” than she was a few years earlier during the making of “Malevolence”.

“There was a breakup, and probably the worst breakup you could possibly imagine,” Ash said. “I’ve never talked about who it was or what the exact circumstances are, and I never will. But when I wrote ‘Malevolence’ in about 2015, ’16, it was the darkest time of my life on this planet. I really didn’t think I was gonna make it out on the other side alive, and it shows in the songs, especially the title track, ‘Malevolence’. It’s not a happy record.”

Unbreakable track listing:

01. Come For Me

02. MissUnderstood

03. Skeletons

04. Unbreakable

05. Shut Up

06. Done With You

07. Poltergeist

08. Break My Body

09. Sorry Not Sorry

10. My Monsters

11. Nocturnal

12. I Survived

Album art credit: Marc Liscio