Mutilation Rites Share Video For “Axiom Destroyer”

Brooklyn’s kvlt grind band Mutilation Rites are closing in on their new album, Chasm, due out in a few weeks via Gilead Media (US) and Argento Records (Europe). Watch their new David Hall (Blekkmetal Documentary, Maryland Deathfest: The Movie, Today is the Day, Portal) directed video for ‘Axiom Destroyer’ below.


Mutilation Rites guitarist Michael Dimmit commented”

Axiom Destroyer’ is a song about being forced to watch a loved one tortured in front of your eyes. Everything that makes life stable and normal to you is being destroyed in a depraved, perverted exhibition. A person is being forced fed a skewed reality by an authoritarian government with mind-altering drugs and propaganda videos. This could be anyone you have in your life on a daily basis having their mind and life changed by propaganda, like advertisements, radical mouthpieces or corporate lifestyle.”

David Hall also commented:

The inspiration for the Axiom Destroyer video was Voivod’s video for ‘Astronomy Domine’ and the “two-minute hate” video featured in the book 1984 by George Orwell. Based on the title—Axiom Destroyer—I got a real cold war-ish sci-fi vibe from the song. I knew I wanted to create something colorful, stark, and cold. For me, anything sci-fi and metal related always means Voivod so after watching their ‘Astronomy Domine’ video a bunch of times I came up with a concept: brainwashing.”


Ryan Jones – bass and vocals

George Paul – guitar and vocals

Michael Dimmitt – guitar

Tyler Coburn – drums on recording

Emmett Ceglia – current drummer

Pre-order Chasm now here and here:


Album artwork by Mark Riddick

Track list:

1. Pierced Larynx

2. Axiom Destroyer

3. Ominous Rituals

4. Post Mortem Obsession

5. Chasm

6. Putrid Decomposition

Recording notes:

Chasm was recorded August through November 2017. Drums and basic guitars recorded at Saint Vitus Bar. Guitars overdubbed at Growlhouse Recording (Ryan Jones’ studio), then re-amped at Chapel Black Studio with Travis Bacon (Black Anvil, Hogwasche, White Widows Pact, Grudges). Vocals and Mixing at GrowlHouse Recording. Mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege Mastering.