Metallica’s New Batch of Blackened American Whiskey Was Made to the “S and M 2” Playlist

Metallica released their latest album S&M² (Blackened Recordings) this past summer, as a live document (CD/Blu-ray) of their 20th-anniversary concerts in 2019. Now Sweet Amber Distilling Co. has announced the launch of Blackened American Whiskey’s Batch 106 expression, which has been sonically enhanced to an S&M² live album playlist. The new Blackened batch is sold in a limited-edition box featuring a unique, original design by artist Squindo that is a rendition of the sonic-enhancement process, making it the perfect gift or collector’s item. It can be purchased through or found at local retailers by visiting Blackened’s web site.

“The ‘S&M²’ performances were a challenge for us,” said Kirk Hammett, METALLICA’s lead guitarist. “The first ‘S&M’ shows in 1999 were such a pivotal part of METALLICA’s evolution. We knew we had to mark their 20th anniversary on an even bigger scale, but without sacrificing any of the intimacy of those shows. The reaction has been incredible, to the shows and the album, and we’re thrilled to be able to bring those same ‘S&M²’ vibes to Blackened.”


“I was actually at the arena for both nights of the ‘S&M²’ concert,” said Dietrich. “The insane energy that exuded from both the fans and performers is unforgettable. It’s amazing to bring that spirit and passion to Blackened.”


The playlist features 17 songs from the world-renowned two-night event, including:


  1. The Call Of Ktulu
  2. For Whom The Bell Tolls
  3. The Day That Never Comes
  4. The Memory Remains
  5. Confusion
  6. Moth Into Flame
  7. The Outlaw Torn
  8. No Leaf Clover
  9. Halo On Fire
  10. The Unforgiven III
  11. All Within My Hands
  12. (Anesthesia) – Pulling Teeth
  13. Wherever I May Roam
  14. One
  15. Master Of Puppets
  16. Nothing Else Matters