Mercyful Fate To Reunite in 2020 for Copenhell, New Music Incoming

In major news for Heavy Metal fans, legends Mercyful Fate, featuring King Diamond will reunite their “9” lineup in 2020 to perform at the Copenhell Festival, presumably other major European summer metal festivals and unspecified other concerts. These shows will also feature Joey Vera (Armored Saint, Motor Sister, ex-Anthrax) on bass, but does not include Michael Denner. The set list will apparently include only songs from the  “mini LP”, the “Melissa” album, and the “Don’t Break The Oath”.  The band has also written new music for the tour, for release next year and are planning a major stage show to accompany these concerts.


We will be playing an unspecified number of concerts throughout Europe during the summer of 2020, including COPENHELL.

It will be the “9” lineup, featuring:

Hank Shermann – Guitar

King Diamond – Vocals

Bjarne T Holm – Drums

Mike Wead – Guitar

with Joey Vera on the bass while Timi Hansen is away.

We asked Joey Vera (Armored Saint, Fates Warning) to fill in because he has a very unique style and sound playing with his fingers, much like that of Timi Hansen. This is very important, since the set list will only consist of songs from the very first “mini LP”, the “Melissa” album, and the “Don’t Break The Oath” album, plus some brand new songs written specifically in that very same style.

This will very much be Mercyful Fate as we were in the very beginning, except for a brand new major stage production.

See you at the Ruined Bridge.

Stay Heavy

Mercyful Fate