Melvins Share Unplugged Version of “Night Goat” – Announce Massive Unplugged Collection

The Melvins have announced a newly recorded, career-retrospective unplugged album, Five Legged Dog, due October 15th via Ipecac Recordings. Chronicling all of their albums from , from 1987’s Gluey Porch Treatments to 2017’s A Walk With Love & Death, their first ever acoustic collections features 36 songs, including the bands deep history of classics such as “Night Goat”, “Honey Bucket,” And “Billy Fish.” The massive collection also features covers by The Rolling Stones, and Alice Cooper! Listen to the first single, “Night Goat” below.


Pre-order here

Photo credit: Bob Hannam

Five Legged Dog cover (artwork by Mackie Osborne)


“I knew I wanted to do something ridiculously big,” explains Buzz Osborne of the band’s first ever acoustic offering. ”36 songs reimagined by us acoustically is certainly ridiculous but it works. The magic of the songs is still there regardless of it being acoustic. Since we weren’t touring we had the time to do something of this size. I’m very excited about this record. Dale and Steven did a fantastic job on this. I think it’s a very special record. I can’t think of anyone else who’s done something like this.”


Dale Crover noted: “I think people will be surprised that we can do an acoustic version of a song like ‘Night Goat’ without losing any of the heaviness. We also worked hard on the vocal arrangements. People are going to freak out!”


Check out our recent interview with Dale Crover:


Five Legged Dog also features acoustic versions of several rarities from the influential band’s overflowing discography including a cover of Redd Kross’ “Charlie” (from the limited-edition “Escape From LA” single), “Outside Chance,” a Turtles’ cover from the “Slithering Slaughter” single and new interpretations of The Rolling Stones “Sway,” Brainiac’s “Flypaper,” and Fred Neil’s “Everybody’s Talking” (popularized by Harry Nilsson). Butthole Surfer Jeff Pinkus lends his vocals (and banjo) to “Don’t Forget to Breathe” and “Everybody’s Talking.”

The collection, which is available for pre-order now (, will be released digitally, as a double-disc CD, both on Oct. 15, with a 4LP colored vinyl release arriving on Jan. 28.


Five Legged Dog track list (with original album/cover info):

Edgar The Elephant (A Walk With Love & Death)

Up The Dumper (The Bootlicker)

Hung Bunny/Roman Dog Bird (Lysol)

Hooch (Houdini)

Billy Fish (Nude With Boots)

Shevil (Stoner Witch)

Charlie (Redd Kross cover from “Escape From LA” single)

A Growing Disgust (Freak Puke)

Eye Flys/Woman (Gluey Porch Treatments – “Woman” is a Free cover)

Pitfalls In Serving Warrants (Honky)

Outside Chance (The Turtles cover from “Slithering Slaughter” single)

Evil New War God (The Bride Screamed Murder)

The Bloated Pope (Pigs of the Roman Empire)

Bad Move (from Dale Crover’s solo album, The Fickle Finger of Fate)

With Teeth (Lysol)

Halo of Flies (Alice Cooper cover from Sieg Howdy!)

Oven (Ozma)

Sway (Rolling Stones cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)

Anaconda (Bullhead)

Lovely Butterfly (Honky)

Boris (Bullhead)

It’s Shoved (Bullhead)

Honey Bucket (Houdini)

We Are Doomed (The Bulls & The Bees)

Flypaper (Brainiac cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)

Let God Be Your Gardener (Ozma)

At The Stake (Stoner Witch)

Night Goat (Houdini)

Queen (Stoner Witch)

Everybody’s Talking (Fred Neil cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)

Revolve (Stoner Witch)

Suicide In Progress (Nude With Boots)

Prig (The Bootlicker)

The Bit (Stag)

Civilized Worm ((A) Senile Animal)

Don’t Forget to Breathe (Pinkus Abortion Technician)


Follow Melvins