Max Cavalera Discusses Working With Metal Allegiance In A New Video

Supergroup Metal Allegiance, featuring David Ellefson (Megadeth), Alex Skolnick (Testament), Mike Portnoy (The Winery Dogs, ex-Dream Theater) and Mark Menghi will release its sophomore album, “Volume II – Power Drunk Majesty”, on September 7 via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. The band released its second single, ‘Voodoo Of The Godsend’, featuring Max Cavalera (Soulfly, Sepultura, Cavalera Conspiracy). A new trailer for the disc in which Cavalera discusses his involvement with the project can be seen below.

Menghi commented:

“‘Voodoo’ turned out to be a tribal crusher ala some other influential tribal metal band that we all know and love whom once featured Max.

“We live in a world of way too much bullshit and hate these days… and, as our drummer would say, it’s nice to have a step towards world peace.”

Skolnick commented:

“One of the most distinct tracks on our new album (and indeed, in the entire METAL ALLEGIANCE catalogue), ‘Voodoo’ has a hypnotic feel with indigenous percussion, bringing to mind a ritual in the rainforest.

“We’re grateful to have the ultimate voice for this track, with a sound that’ll ll never be mistaken for anyone else: Max Cavalera.”

Other guest musicians on “Volume II – Power Drunk Majesty” include Trevor Strnad (The Black Dahlia Murder), John Bush (Armored Saint), Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth (Overkill), Mark Tornillo (Accept), Floor Jansen (Nightwish) and Johan Hegg (Amon Amarth). The album also marks the return of Mark Oseguesda (Death Angel) and Troy Sanders (Mastodon).

Volume II – Power Drunk Majesty was produced by Menghi and Skolnick while Mark Lewis of MRL Studios handled the mixing and mastering. The cover artwork was created by renowned artist Marcelo Vasco (Slayer, Machine Head, Soulfly, Hatebreed) and Rafael Tavares.

“Volume II – Power Drunk Majesty” track listing:

01. The Accuser (feat. Trevor Strnad)

02. Bound By Silence (feat. John Bush)

03. Mother Of Sin (feat. Bobby Blitz)

04. Terminal Illusion (feat. Mark Tornillo)

05. King With A Paper Crown (feat. Johan Hegg)

06. Voodoo Of The Godsend (feat. Max Cavalera)

07. Liars & Thieves (feat. Troy Sanders)

08. Impulse Control (feat. Mark Osegueda)

09. Power Drunk Majesty (Part I) (feat. Mark Osegueda)

10. Power Drunk Majesty (Part II) (feat. Floor Jansen)

Pre-order Volume II – Power Drunk Majesty, here:
All formats:
Black Vinyl:
Digital album:

This summer, METALALLEGIANCE in collaboration with Barrage Brewing Company will release a very special premium double IPL (Indian Pale Lager) entitled, Lager Of Sin. Named after the first single, ‘Mother Of Sin’, the beer will be released on July 27th followed by a weekend full of festivities!