Listen To ASG’s Amazing Cover Of Pink Floyd’s “Mother”


Southern stoner sludge metallers ASG have shared their stellar cover of Pink Floyd’s ‘Mother’ from their classic album The Wall. The track comes from the upcoming Magnetic Eye Records‘ The Wall [REDUX]. The cover-to-cover re-imagining of Pink Floyd’s ambitious concept album by up-and-coming and seminal artists from across the heavy music landscape, with single releases of songs from Pallbearer and Mark Lanegan already streaming. Check out ‘Mother’ now!

Pink Floyd’s ‘Mother’, by ASG. 

Singer/guitarist Jason Shi comments:

“I was intrigued as a vocalist to take a singular attempt at Waters’ and Gilmour’s vocal tracks. To me that’s what really makes the song, the dichotomy of their voices. Like many Pink Floyd classics, simplicity ruled all – three basic chords and inspired lyrics often won the prize. I think those ingredients can still hold weight in modern songwriting, and sometimes you need a reminder of such.”

Magnetic Eye Records will release The Wall [REDUX] and the companion album, Best Of Pink Floyd [REDUX], on November 9th, with a massive cross-section of established scene luminaries and ambitious newcomers including The Melvins, Howling Giant, Ruby the Hatchet, Red Mesa, Summoner and Year of the Cobra taking on tracks across both volumes. Pre-orders for both are available now at this location.

ASG’s cover of “Mother” will be available via digital streaming single on October 19th.

The full tracklist for The Wall [Redux] is as follows:

Side A

1. In the Flesh? – The Melvins

2. The Thin Ice – Low Flying Hawks

3. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 1 – Ghastly Sound

4. The Happiest Days of Our Lives – Sergeant Thunderhoof

5. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 2 – Sasquatch

6. Mother – ASG

Side B

1. Goodbye Blue Sky – Mos Generator

2. Empty Spaces – Domkraft

3. Young Lust – The Slim Kings

4. One of My Turns – Worshipper

5. Don’t Leave Me Now – Spaceslug

6. When the Tigers Broke Free – Year of the Cobra

7. Another Brick in the Wall, Pt. 3 / Goodbye Cruel World – Greenleaf

Side C

1. Hey You – Summoner

2. Is There Anybody Out There? – Scott Reeder

3. Nobody Home – Mark Lanegan

4. Vera – Ruby the Hatchet

5. Bring the Boys Back Home – Sunflo’er

6. Comfortably Numb – Mars Red Sky

Side D

1. The Show Must Go On – Open Hand

2. In the Flesh – Solace

3. Run Like Hell – Pallbearer

4. Waiting for the Worms – WhiteNails

5. Stop – Blue Heron

6. The Trial – Church of The Cosmic Skull

7. Outside the Wall – Yawning Man