Lightning Born Shares New Single and Video For “Shifting Wind”

North Carolina’s Lightning Born has shared their first new single and video clip from their highly anticipated debut self-titled album, due out this month. Lightning Born features legendary bassist Mike Dean Mike Dean (Corrosion of Conformity), incredible singer Brenna Leath (The Hell No), drummer Doza Hawes (Mega Colossus, ex-Bloody Hammers; ex-Hour of 13) and guitarist Erik Sugg (Demon Eye). The animated clip was created by artist Costin Chioreanu for Twilight13 Media (Ghost, Darkthrone, Triptykon). Stream and buy ‘Shifting Wind’ now.

Stream the track here:

As to Lightning Born’s formation, Dean explains, “I share a studio, where we have done most of the work on the last several Corrosion of Conformity records. I traded some studio time for a 2” analog tape machine and started making records with local musicians. One of those was Brenna Leath, whose voice and songwriting blew me away when she came in with her punk band, The Hell No.”

“On another occasion I had the opportunity to work with an accomplished retro doom/proto-metal band called Demon Eye. They recorded an album called Prophecies and Lies with me. Singer and guitarist Erik Sugg mentioned that he and Brenna were teaming up on some new material with a drummer namer “Dozer” or “Dosa”, something like that. It turns out to was Doza Hawes whose main gig, outside of writing robotics manuals, was playing over the top Iron Maiden style drums in Mega Colossus. My impression was that this would be a retro alternate universe aesthetic and I was excited. They mentioned they needed a bass player and I must have invited myself to try out. We made recordings on the run, after work, and between tours. Eventually we had a record, and we are, Ripple Music recording artists.”

As for the band’s name, Hawes explains: “My son Evan and I were watching Carl Sagan’s Cosmos and he got really excited about the theory that lightning spawned the first complex molecules that eventually led to life on Earth. He said, “We are all born from lightning,” and I thought that was a cool phrase. So we flipped that around into Lightning Born, which sounded like a proper, timeless rock band name. Who says watching old school public TV is a waste of time?”

Pre-order the album now at

Lighting Born – self-titled track listing:

1. Shifting Winds

2. Renegade

3. Silence

4. You Have Been Warned

5. Salvation

6. Magnetic

7. Out For Blood

8. Power Struggle

9. Oblivion

10. Wildfire

11. Godless