Hjelvik Shares Animated Video for “Glory of Hel”

Viking heavy metal s Hjelvik (ex Kvelertak) has released a new song and music video for their new song “Glory of Hel”. The track comes from their upcoming debut album Welcome to Hel, due out on November 20th, 2020 via Nuclear Blast. Watch the animated music video by Adam Avilla of Flesh & Bones in San Francisco, California which includes a guest performance by Matt Pike from the bands High on Fire and Sleep right now!


Frontman Erlend Hjelvik comments on the song: “I’m excited to finally unveil ‘Glory of Hel’ in all its…glory! It’s one of the hardest rocking tracks from Welcome to Hel and is visited by the mythical Matt Pike (High on Fire & Sleep) who lends his killer voice and face melting guitar solo. To top that off, there’s a badass animated music video created by the disgustingly talented Adam Avilla. The video depicts a twisted take on the death of Odin’s son Balder and the ensuing events of Ragnarok with an animation style reminiscent of cult classics like ‘Heavy Metal‘ and ‘Fire and Ice.‘. Thanks to both Matt and Adam for their amazing contributions and I hope people love it!”


HJELVIK’s first solo album Welcome to Hel, based on Norse mythology and history, includes all the trappings of a lucrative Viking pillage. The album was recorded and mixed at The Hallowed Halls in Portland, Oregon, US by Justin Phelps (Joe Satriani, Poison Idea, Slough Feg) and mastered by Grammy award-winning engineer, Alan Douches (Mastodon, Converge, Baroness). Special guest appearances by Matt Pike (Sleep, High on Fire) on ‘Glory of Hel’ and Mike Scalzi (Slough Feg) on ‘Necromance’ are also included. The legendary Joe Petagno created the Welcome to Hel cover artwork and HJELVIK logo and is responsible for creating the timeless iconic images we all love from bands like Motörhead, Led Zeppelin, Nazareth.


Erlend HJELVIK’s first two singles + music videos from the Welcome to Hel debut album here:


“Helgrinda”: https://youtu.be/CK9UVT5OmNQ

“North Tsar”: https://youtu.be/_tKN2kfcQd8

Uncensored “North Tsar”: https://youtu.be/_tKN2kfcQd8

Pre-order the album in the format of your choice here: http://nblast.de/Hjelvik-WelcomeToHel

Pre-save the album to Spotify, Apple Music and Deezer here: http://nblast.de/HjelvikWelcomePreSave

Welcome to Hel tracklist:

  1. Father War
  2. Thor’s Hammer
  3. Helgrinda
  4. The Power Ballad of Freyr
  5. Glory of Hel
  6. 12th Spell
  7. Ironwood
  8. Kveldulv
  9. North Tsar
  10. Necromance

HJELVIK is the new solo-band of ex-KVELERTAK frontman, lyricist and co-founder Erlend Hjelvik. After touring worldwide with some of the world’s greatest bands like METALLICA, SLAYER and GHOST and earning four Norwegian Spellemann awards, Erlend parted ways with his bandmates in 2018 and has spent the last two years songwriting and creating HJELVIK’s first solo album.


Watch HJELVIK’s announcement (English) here: https://youtu.be/UneH8BFYG1k

Watch HJELVIK’s announcement (Norwegian) here: https://youtu.be/1Do_TcBozqQ



Erlend Hjelvik – Vocals, Lyrics, and Songwriting

Rob Steinway – Lead Guitar

Remi André Nygård – Rhythm Guitar

Alexis Lieu – Bass

Kevin Foley – Drums