High On Fire Streams New Song, Full Album Details

As previously reported at Ghost Cult, High On Fire’s new album will be released on October 5, 2018, via Entertainment One (eOne). The legendary band has shared the first new music, the title track for you to rock out to over at NPR. It is a tribute to band hero and late Motorhead frontman Ian “Lemmy” Kilmister. Check it out!


Matt Pike commented:

I had a dream about Lemmy. When Lemmy was still alive I always got compared to Lemmy…so I had this dream where he got pissed at me.”

“He gave me a bunch of shit, basically, and was hazing me. Not that he didn’t approve of me, but like I was being hazed. The song is me telling the world that I could never fill Lemmy’s shoes because Lemmy’s Lemmy. I wanted to pay homage to him in a great way. And it turned out to be such a good title that the guys said we should call the album ‘Electric Messiah.”

Pike commented about once again working with Producer Kurt Ballou:

Kurt just has a knack for us, man,” Matt Pike says. “We all work really well with him. Even if we have differences about how we want to record something, he works with us and understands what we do. We’ve been sticking with him because we haven’t made a bad record with him yet.”

On the new music:

This band keeps evolving. This is by far the best record I’ve ever made with the High on Fire stamp. It just keeps getting better and better. We just try to outdo ourselves. I’m not saying the old work is progressively worse, it’s just that we get better every time instead of burning out, which is a common finality for a lot of bands. This album is fucking excellent, I just love everything on it, I’m not bummed about anything. It’s great when you think that about your record.”

High On Fire, Electric Messiah

1. Spewn From the Earth

2. Steps of the Ziggurat/House of Enlil

3. Electric Messiah

4. Sanctioned Annihilation

5. The Pallid Mask

6. God of the Godless

7. Freebooter

8. The Witch and the Christ

9. Drowning Dog

Pre-order the album now: https://smarturl.it/ElectricMessiah

High On Fire is: Matt Pike / Des Kensel / Jeff Matz