EXCLUSIVE VIDEO PREMIERE: The Goodbye Summer Shares ”Rocket” (Official Lyric Video)

Kentville, Nova Scotia’s Punks The Goodbye Summer make feel-good sounding music, but with classic themes for the emo deep within. Founded by band architect and vocalist/guitarist Daniel Hornell – with self-described drum nerd Alex Heibein and wildly adaptable bassist Brad Dodge – The Goodbye Summer bring to mind a simpler time of the early 2000s, Warped Tour, and big hooks songs! Coming off of their recently released Sad Boy Buzz Words EP, Check out their new lyric video for the track ”Rocket” right now!

Sad Boy Buzz Words EP tracklisting

Don’t Cry For Me

My Friends




Formerly of Conception Bay South, Newfoundland and Labrador, Hornell’s love of music came fast and furious from a young age from the moment he picked up an electric guitar at the age of 12. He’s been the driving force of bands and musical projects across Atlantic Canada ranging from pop punk, to techno and screamo. But in 2020 Hornell decided that it was time to cement his own path, without limitations.


“When I first landed here back in 2011, it was all about deejay, techno and rap. I was doing that for artists and rappers in the area and eventually did a bit of my own. But it just wasn’t my vibe,” he recalled. “It came to the point where it was like, OK, I’ve been writing songs for 15 years. I’ve got all these songs and they all had this leaving home, crying about girls vibe. I’m going to package this. I’m going to make this my band.”


Recruiting London, Ontario native Alex Heibein and former session-mate Brad Dodge, Hornell carved out the bones of what would become the debut LP of The Goodbye Summer, a concept record of sorts reflecting the emotional highs and lows that came from leaving his home province a decade prior.


“We made The Goodbye Summer, which is all about the summer I left home from Newfoundland and the emotions in that. That longing of wanting to be back home. And it had a lot of emo vibes and a real good source of lyrics for the album and for the band. I’ve got a fountain of this. There’s going to be more longing for home songs.”


The Goodbye Summer is:


Daniel Hornell – Guitar / Vocals


Alex Heibein – Drums


Brad Dodge – Bass


Follow The Goodbye Summer: