Darkthrone Streams New Single – “The Hardship Of The Scots”

As we previously reported Black Metal legends Darkthrone will release their new album, Old Star, on May 31 via Peaceville Records. Check out their new single ‘The Hardship Of The Scots’ complete with an awesome visualizer!

Fenriz enthuses: “‘Old Star’ — again we are here with the riffs! A while after our previous ‘Arctic Thunder’, album it became apparent that we would continue in that same style, black old heavy metal with slow thrash, classic doom and slow death metal.

“As many have focused on the ’70s sound over the last 20 years, the mix on our new album has ended up being more ’80s than ever. The songs are more metal than ever! Ted’s songs have alot of black metal in them, faster and slower but also doomier parts and reocurring parts. My songs are more linear written. It’s an ancient ’80s underground trick, with breaks, all slow heavy or slow thrash, classic doom or slow death.”

He continues, “All in all, it is our most ’80s album so far and our most metal one to date with drum sound typical for the ’80s USA/German market and damned lyrics, which are all written by me. We feel that ‘Old Star’ is the big brother of ‘Arctic Thunder’. More solid and with even better riffs.”

Old Star track listing:

01. I Muffle Your Inner Choir [06:26]

02. The Hardship Of The Scots [07:36]

03. Old Star [04:28]

04. Alp Man [05:27]

05. Duke Of Gloat [06:49]

06. The Key Is Inside The Wall [07:24]

Darkthrone is:

Gylve “Fenriz” Nagell – drums, songwriting, lyrics

Ted “Nocturno Culto” Skjellum – strings and vocals, songwriting