Clutch Releases New Single, New Album Artwork And Details

Clutch previously announced their new album, The Book of Bad Decisions, is releasing from their own label Weathermaker Music on September 7th. Now they have dropped the first new music from the album in the form of a new single and lyric video. Watch ‘Gimmie The Keys’ right now!

The new album was recorded at Sputnik Sound in Nashville, Tennessee by producer Vance Powell (Jack White, Chris Stapleton, The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather) and consists of 15 new tracks.

Drummer Jean-Paul Gaster comments:

.With Vance Powell as producer we were able to make a very different kind of an album. The songs feel as if they could jump out of the speakers!”

Bassist Dan Maines added:

Recording in Nashville with Vance Powell gave us a new and fresh approach towards making an album that truly captures the live energy of CLUTCH in a way I don’t think we’ve done before.”

Guitarist Tim Sult also added:

Laying down guitar tracks with Vance was fun and inspiring. Going through and trying out his and his engineer, Mike Fahey’s collection of vintage amps was one of my favourite recording studio experiences. I think the outro solo of “Emily Dickinson” turned out particularly great.”

The album cover (shown above) was designed by renowned photographer Dan Winters.

Book Of Bad Decisions track listing:

1. Gimme The Keys

2. Spirit Of ’76

3. Book Of Bad Decisions

4. How To Shake Hands

5. In Walks Barbarella

6. Vision Quest

7. Weird Times

8. Emily Dickinson

9. Sonic Counselor

10. A Good Fire

11. Ghoul Wrangler

12. HB Is In Control

13. Hot Bottom Feeder

14. Paper & Strife

15. Lorelei

The accompanying lyric video was created by David Brodsky. (Links: and

This single is the first of four to be released over the next couple of months as an instant gratification track at iTunes ( and Amazon ( Pre-orders start today, May 18th. All album formats (CD, 24-page book with CD, Standard Black 2xLP, Limited Coloured 2xLP, and 2xLP Picture Disc) will have the same 15 tracks. In addition Weathermaker Music will release two very limited 7” Picture Discs.

Frontman Neil Fallon commented about the song and album:

I’ve never been one for nostalgia. I’ve always shied away from it. But after 27 years of this, I realize that there is a wealth of stories to look back upon as lyrical fodder. As the saying goes, ‘You don’t know where you’re going until you know where you’ve been.’ Not all the songs reference our collective experience as a band, but ‘Book of Bad Decisions’ seemed like an apt name for these various chapters, whether factual, fictitious, or somewhere in-between.”

Clutch UK Tour 2018 – On Sale Now:

Tue 18th Dec – Bristol O2 Academy

Wed 19th Dec – Glasgow O2 Academy

Thu 20th Dec – Manchester Academy

Fri 21st Dec – London O2 Academy Brixton

Sat 22nd Dec – Birmingham O2 Academy