Boris Shares A New Single and Video for “prologue sansaro” – New Album “fade” Out Today

Avant-Garde Doom Metal leaders Boris have released their third album of 2022 with fade. Celebrating its 30th anniversary, the band continues to delight and challenge listeners. Check out the lead-off single and video for the first single “prologue sansaro” now!


Photo by: Yoshihiro Mori.


2022 marks the 30th anniversary Boris; a year of upheaval as the first post-pandemic year. This year, Boris put out the albums W and Heavy Rocks (2022) in succession, and for the first time in three years went on tour overseas, playing “rock-like” shows that garnered reactions from around the world exceeding those prior to the COVID-19 pandemic.


This was also the year Boris realized that— along with music culture itself— they strive toward the future and have acquired new possibilities for heavy music. As a conclusion to these 30 years, fade is released as the latest album under the moniker of boris today for Bandcamp Friday.


Informed by the massive sounds of drone metal, this new release is “…not bound by concepts of rock and music in general, but could rather be said to be a documentary of the world plunged into the chaotic age of boris moving forward,” the band comments.


They continue, “Break into the present, post-pandemic era. Memories of the world wrapped in disorder and uncertainty already bring feelings of nostalgia. Every individual was cut off from society, but now have returned as one.


Among that disorder like a primitive scenery, did you have fear? Did you doze off? Or in an extreme state of mind, did you even feel some comfort in the solitude?

Among that disorder, did you make eye contact with yourself, or did you not experience such a moment?

Now, wrapped in a thunderous roar, your whole body will be caressed on the way to awakening.

Morning comes.”

fade track listing:

prologue sansaro

chapter 1 gekkou no irie -howling moon, melting sun


chapter 2 michikusa


chapter 3 (nanji, sashidasareta te wo tsukamu bekarazu)

chapter 4 marine snow

epilogue a bao a qu -infinite corridor-

afterword buried in marine snow

fade credits:


takeshi: vocals & guitar

wata: guitar, music box & echo

atsuo: drums & electronics


recording: fangsanalsatan at sound square 2020


mix: fangsanalsatan

mastering: soichiro nakamura at peace music 2022

design: fangsanalsatan


Buy the album here: