Blacktop Mojo Talks About Their New Album, Pledge Music, Publicity and More!

Ghost Cult caught up with up and coming Texan band Blacktop Mojo last fall at Rock Allegiance Festival in Camden, New Jersey. Speaking to Matt James and Ryan Kiefer right after they performed, we chatted about the festival, their upcoming new record, crowdfunding with Pledge Music, building a close relationship with fans, what good publicity does for underground bands, their famous cover songs like Aerosmith’s ‘Dream On’ and Fleetwood Mac’s ‘Dreams’, how much Stevie Nicks rules, natural disasters, and more! Their current album Burn The Ships is out now via Cuhmon Records! Interview conducted by Keefy with Omar Cordy of OJC Photography. 



Burn The Ships, produced by legendary Muscle Shoals producer Jimmy Johnson, is a beast. Known for their raw originals and spot-on covers, such as their million plus viewed the video for their take on Aerosmith’s classic ‘Dream On’, the band is hard at work on the follow-up album, dubbed Under The Sun, launched last fall with a Pledge Music Campaign. This album is already one of Ghost Cult’s most anticipated albums for 2019. The band commented on

Fans can pre-order a selection of items including signed copies of the new album, exclusive t-shirts, fishing with the band, hangouts, and even listing their name in the album jacket.

Burn The Ships Track Listing:

1. Where The Wind Blows

2. End Of Days

3. Burn The Ships

4. Prodigal

5. Shadows On The Wall

6. Sweat

7. Pyromaniac

8. 8000 Lines

9. Dog On A Leash

10. Make A Difference

11. Chains

12. Dream On

13. Underneath


Blacktop Mojo is:

Lead Vocals/ Rhythm Guitar- Matt James

Guitar/ Backing Vocals – Kenneth Irwin

Percussion – Nathan Gillis

Bass – Matt Curtis

Lead Guitar/ Backing Vocals- Ryan Kiefer