Årabrot Shares New Video “Kinks Of The Heart”

Legendary avant-garde band Årabrot has shared a cinematic video from their upcoming new album today for “Kinks Of The Heart.” The epic 2xLP album Norwegian Gothic, is due out in April on Pelagic Records. The new music is said to be more accessible, but still the same band that has given us years of genre classics. Watch and share “Kinks Of The Heart” now!



Order here: https://bit.ly/arabrotmusic

Årabrot’s 9th full-length album Norwegian Gothic (its title a play on the Grant Wood painting American Gothic) sees the band collaborate with Lars Horntveth (Jaga Jazzist), cellist Jo Quail, Tomas Järmyr (Motorpsycho), Anders Møller (Turbonegro, Ulver) and Massimo Pupillo (Zu). A stellar production by Jaime Gomez Arellano (Black Eyed Peas, Paradise Lost, Hexvessel, Oranssi Pazusu) makes this the quintessential Årabrot record, as guitarist and vocalist Kjetil Nernes confirms:


“Norwegian Gothic is the culmination of everything Årabrot has done musically the past 10 years. It is not only the climax of the band so far, but also a good indication of what to come. It is basically anamalgamation of all of our influences here in the church where we live. Musically it is inspired by all the albums of our record collection and thematically by the books we have in our shelves. More specifically it is our special brand of rock’n’roll music mixed with fin-de-siecle decadence, surrealism and even a pinch of old German philosophy to boot.”


The band has collaborated with procuders like Billy Anderson and Steve Albini, and musicians like Ted Parsons (Killing Joke/Swans), Sunn O))))’s Stephen O’Malley, and Kvelertak’s Erlend Hjelvik. They have composed music for silent movies like “Die Niebelungen” and “Doctor Caligari”, and have teamed up with The Quietus founder John Doran on his spoken word tour. Their album The Gospel was named “Album of the Year” by The Quietus.


Norwegian Gothic will be available on 2xLP, CD and digital on April 9th, 2021 via Pelagic Records. Preorders are available HERE.


Artist: Årabrot

Album: Norwegian Gothic

Record label: Pelagic Records

Release date: April 9, 2021


  1. Carnival of Love
  2. The Rule of Silence
  3. Feel It On
  4. The Lie
  5. The Crows
  6. Kinks Of The Heart
  7. Hailstones For Rain
  8. The Voice
  9. (This Is) The Night
  10. Hard Love
  11. Impact Heavily Onto The Concrete
  12. Hounds Of Heaven
  13. Deadlock
  14. The Moon Is Dead
  15. You’re Not That Special


Follow Årabrot”